<span style="color: #CC33CC"> Music producers advised Carlton Hylton that his voice was too fine, he sounded like a girl and sang off key. Luckily Carlton was not deterred and with natural talent and perseverance he later received the recognition he deserved under the stage name of Ghost.
Ghost was born 25 years ago in Kingston, Jamaica and he grew up between Kingston, Clarendon and Rocky Point. He received his moniker when he was around 9 years old. At that time he was living in the country with his mother and he was knocked over by a bike. He hit his mouth on the sidewalk and chipped his teeth and on his return to town his friends said, "Lord him deh a country and mash up him mout'. Him get ugly like ghost".
Ghost can't even begin to comprehend a career without music and it is not surprising when you think that at the tender age of 5 he decided he wanted to sing and he used to practice singing Michael Jackson songs while he was in the bath.
The first memory DaintyCrew.com have of Ghost was when he used to perform alongside another artist named Culture. Culture dropped out of the business but Ghost continued because he says "the business is my life".
Ghost is a member of the popular Dancehall crew known as The Monster Shack Crew. The other 2 well known members are DJs Roundhead and General B. The Monster Shack Crew received their name after Roundhead's home which was an unfinished house or 'shack' and from his tune that started with the lyrics, "man a monster, me a gangster me nah tek back no talk, anything test me going to write off".
Over the years Ghost has covered many songs with a couple of the most recent ones including Paul Simon's 'Bodyguard' and Cher's 'Believe'. Ghost's attitude towards covers is that "as long as me sound good and me feel it through my heart me a go sing it". With the exception of the covers, Ghost writes his own lyrics and now and again gets assisted with writing from the other members of Monster Shack Crew and also producers.
Ghost's first album, 'Slowly' was released by Shocking Vibes and was full of covers with the exception of the title track that Ghost wrote himself. In fact 'Slowly' was the first song that Ghost ever wrote.
'Slowly' also features on Ghost's most recent album 'Love You' which was released back in August 2000, which has done very well. 'Love You' is distributed by Music Ambassador. Ghost said "I got introduced to Music Ambassador and talked them into taking the album and now everybody regret that they didn't take the album".
Ghost has received positive feedback for the title track of his current album 'Love You' which is self penned. People were shocked because "they have me as a sing over artist but them never expect me to sing an original". At the time of conducting the interview Ghost advised that Salaam Remi had just finished editing the remix of 'Love You' featuring a big Reggae artist, which Ghost was unwilling to disclose at the time of the interview.
Most artists' dream is to crossover into the international market and Ghost might have been in with a chance when he linked up with Pras (formerly of the Fugees) in 1999. Unfortunately there were some problems with Pras and Columbia Records and the collaboration never got released.
Like most Jamaican artists Ghost has worked alongside many other artists including Red Rat, Saaba Tooth, Spragga Benz and Singing Melody. He has had his material produced by Steely and Clevie, Shams, Youngblood, Salaam Remi, Bobby Digital, Sly & Robbie and Q45. He believes producers shouldn't continually take the easy route and voice established well-known artists instead they should also "focus on the next generation".
Ghost Ghost's plans for the future are to sing music "like nice ballads songs like Celine Dion, Bob Marley that the world can acknowledge and recognise. That is the field I am moving into right now".
Ghost's career his continually evolving. He started out singing in the bath. He progressed to singing covers, then he wrote and sang his own material and now he's involved in producing is own material and others. He is the Executive Producer of his album 'Love You' and he has produced rhythms including the Slide which features Beenie Man, Junior Kelly, Terror Fabulous and Monster Shack to name a few. Another one of his rhythms is entitled 'You Hear Me' and features General B, Bounty Killer and Lexxus and both rhythms are available on the Monster Shack label. So who knows what he has in store for the future but be rest assured that his love for the music never falters. </span>