<span style="font-weight: bold">News Source: OTGNR - </span>

<span style="font-weight: bold"> Confirmed : Despite difficulties , ...rs (Gleaner)...</span>
THE GOATS gamboling along the roadway in Somerset seemed a natural enough occurrence for a community in rural Jamaica that I missed the opportunity to photograph them in the company of owner William Graham. Not unusual, even though the ram goat leading the pack makes for an impressive sight. That is, until someone utters, "You know seh him blind though?"William Graham, who has been blind for the past 13 years, makes his way confidently along the road. Stopping to make a purchase from Sher, Graham engages her in conversation, much to her delight and amusement.Photo Credit: (Gleaner) The reference is to Graham, who has been navigating the roadway with an ease that would not have warranted a second look, even with a walking stick in hand. Upon learning that someone has photographed him, he immediately goes on a tangent, warning about possible legal action but calms down when advised that The Gleaner is responsible. When he gets closer, I introduce myself and learn that the 40-year-old has been blind for the past 13 years."A man shoot me with a gun. Right down the road there, a scattershot gun," he says by way of explanation. The altercation with a householder that fateful night resulted in the loss to one eye and then the subsequent loss of vision in the other. This ram is the prize animal in William Graham's goat herdPhoto Credit: (Gleaner) 'You have to cope'"Well, you know, you know you have to have a channel (way)," he says. "It rough but you have to cope, you know. Me live alone in all mi struggles. Full me water and do everything for myself and me used to raise hog before, but now me turn over to goat."Graham explains that he is on the way to feed the goats having just taken them out of their pen. "Yeah man, me know but when me reach down there mi will see them and them come out," he says when I advise that the goats have gone on without him."You will see them?" I ask."No man a people me get to check the muster (count them). When me go in to the pen me will feel them out and see who and who nuh reach in, but otherwise on the road here is just judgement me deal with because from here to Morant Bay me can stop the vehicle anywhere."The explanation of how he arrives at a price for the goats when making a sale is unorthodox. Graham explains that since butchers are not his primary market, the animal's weight is not a major factor in determining the sale price. Lost concentration"Mi measure him against mi foot," he says in what he obviously believes is a proper explanation of the methodology. Upon realising that the consternation registered on my face is lost to him, I am forced to voice my need for an explanation. By measuring the animal's height against his leg, Graham then arrives at a price, explaining that the cost for ram goats goes up during holiday periods when they are in high demand.Graham goes on to explain that by stopping to chat with me has "messed up and lost concentration". This, as blind people must develop their own method of 'seeing' which requires intense concentration."Him have to remember how many potholes, how many corner him tek and such the like because cause a lot a people say mi seeing. Yea man but is just a mystery. Father say you walk not by sight but by faith," Graham explains.The former businessman, who successfully sold sweets and phone cards during a period when he sought solace in the church following the blindness, went on to admit that he was lured away by his love for the fairer sex."Christ did say Adam lonely and him make Eve give him, so me did deh pon the wrong track cause him (God) say we must grow and multiply and me nuh get nuh child yet," he says in justifying the break with the church.His popularity is obvious from the interaction with residents who shout their greetings to the man who is known also as 'Demus', 'Judge' and 'Board gun' , among other names, is equal to the task, giving as good as he gets in the verbal exchanges."Sher!" he shouts on approaching a nearby shop."Yes Babes?" she replies."Lawd, you make mi day. Babes? A long time me nuh hear them something deh yuh know," he says, triggering a round of laughter before being engulfed in conversation with at least three persons --the goats all but forgotten for the time being.http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fb...79443792098850

<span style="font-weight: bold"> Confirmed : Despite difficulties , ...rs (Gleaner)...</span>
THE GOATS gamboling along the roadway in Somerset seemed a natural enough occurrence for a community in rural Jamaica that I missed the opportunity to photograph them in the company of owner William Graham. Not unusual, even though the ram goat leading the pack makes for an impressive sight. That is, until someone utters, "You know seh him blind though?"William Graham, who has been blind for the past 13 years, makes his way confidently along the road. Stopping to make a purchase from Sher, Graham engages her in conversation, much to her delight and amusement.Photo Credit: (Gleaner) The reference is to Graham, who has been navigating the roadway with an ease that would not have warranted a second look, even with a walking stick in hand. Upon learning that someone has photographed him, he immediately goes on a tangent, warning about possible legal action but calms down when advised that The Gleaner is responsible. When he gets closer, I introduce myself and learn that the 40-year-old has been blind for the past 13 years."A man shoot me with a gun. Right down the road there, a scattershot gun," he says by way of explanation. The altercation with a householder that fateful night resulted in the loss to one eye and then the subsequent loss of vision in the other. This ram is the prize animal in William Graham's goat herdPhoto Credit: (Gleaner) 'You have to cope'"Well, you know, you know you have to have a channel (way)," he says. "It rough but you have to cope, you know. Me live alone in all mi struggles. Full me water and do everything for myself and me used to raise hog before, but now me turn over to goat."Graham explains that he is on the way to feed the goats having just taken them out of their pen. "Yeah man, me know but when me reach down there mi will see them and them come out," he says when I advise that the goats have gone on without him."You will see them?" I ask."No man a people me get to check the muster (count them). When me go in to the pen me will feel them out and see who and who nuh reach in, but otherwise on the road here is just judgement me deal with because from here to Morant Bay me can stop the vehicle anywhere."The explanation of how he arrives at a price for the goats when making a sale is unorthodox. Graham explains that since butchers are not his primary market, the animal's weight is not a major factor in determining the sale price. Lost concentration"Mi measure him against mi foot," he says in what he obviously believes is a proper explanation of the methodology. Upon realising that the consternation registered on my face is lost to him, I am forced to voice my need for an explanation. By measuring the animal's height against his leg, Graham then arrives at a price, explaining that the cost for ram goats goes up during holiday periods when they are in high demand.Graham goes on to explain that by stopping to chat with me has "messed up and lost concentration". This, as blind people must develop their own method of 'seeing' which requires intense concentration."Him have to remember how many potholes, how many corner him tek and such the like because cause a lot a people say mi seeing. Yea man but is just a mystery. Father say you walk not by sight but by faith," Graham explains.The former businessman, who successfully sold sweets and phone cards during a period when he sought solace in the church following the blindness, went on to admit that he was lured away by his love for the fairer sex."Christ did say Adam lonely and him make Eve give him, so me did deh pon the wrong track cause him (God) say we must grow and multiply and me nuh get nuh child yet," he says in justifying the break with the church.His popularity is obvious from the interaction with residents who shout their greetings to the man who is known also as 'Demus', 'Judge' and 'Board gun' , among other names, is equal to the task, giving as good as he gets in the verbal exchanges."Sher!" he shouts on approaching a nearby shop."Yes Babes?" she replies."Lawd, you make mi day. Babes? A long time me nuh hear them something deh yuh know," he says, triggering a round of laughter before being engulfed in conversation with at least three persons --the goats all but forgotten for the time being.http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fb...79443792098850