The Star
PARTYGOERS SCAMMED IN NEGRIL - Tricked into paying for fake houses
The highly anticipated Emancipation weekend that recently came to a close turned out to be a nightmare for several persons who made their way to the west end of the island for the ATI and Dream Weekend parties.
Information reaching THE STAR is that unsuspecting individuals pretending to have accommodations for rent, ripped off a number of persons.
"A US$600 (J$51,600) mi pay a man and all now the man cyan turn up and him nah answer him phone. Me get a number fi him mother but after mi talk to har one time she stop answer the call dem," one victim told THE STAR.
He explained that he was promised a three-bedroom house in Negril for three nights and that the house was not on the strip (Norman Manley Boulevard) but rather on the west end.
unoccupied house
"Is a link mi get pan di bredda so mi link him and him tell me say him have an unoccupied house fi rent. Di man all tell mi fi bring mi own sheet and everything. When we deh pan we way a go Negril we link the man and nuh get no answer."
Another man who came to Jamaica from Miami, Florida, just for the weekend said that, "I came here to have fun and it doesn't look like that's gonna happen again."
He said that after saving towards his vacation for more than a year he was really disappointed.
"I was so angry when I realised I was ripped off but you know what, this won't stop me from coming back, next time I definitely gotta book an all-inclusive hotel," he told THE STAR.
In the meantime, when THE STAR made contact with commanding officer for the Westmoreland police, Superintendent Egbert Parkins, he told us that he was not aware of any of these reports.
PARTYGOERS SCAMMED IN NEGRIL - Tricked into paying for fake houses
The highly anticipated Emancipation weekend that recently came to a close turned out to be a nightmare for several persons who made their way to the west end of the island for the ATI and Dream Weekend parties.
Information reaching THE STAR is that unsuspecting individuals pretending to have accommodations for rent, ripped off a number of persons.
"A US$600 (J$51,600) mi pay a man and all now the man cyan turn up and him nah answer him phone. Me get a number fi him mother but after mi talk to har one time she stop answer the call dem," one victim told THE STAR.
He explained that he was promised a three-bedroom house in Negril for three nights and that the house was not on the strip (Norman Manley Boulevard) but rather on the west end.
unoccupied house
"Is a link mi get pan di bredda so mi link him and him tell me say him have an unoccupied house fi rent. Di man all tell mi fi bring mi own sheet and everything. When we deh pan we way a go Negril we link the man and nuh get no answer."
Another man who came to Jamaica from Miami, Florida, just for the weekend said that, "I came here to have fun and it doesn't look like that's gonna happen again."
He said that after saving towards his vacation for more than a year he was really disappointed.
"I was so angry when I realised I was ripped off but you know what, this won't stop me from coming back, next time I definitely gotta book an all-inclusive hotel," he told THE STAR.
In the meantime, when THE STAR made contact with commanding officer for the Westmoreland police, Superintendent Egbert Parkins, he told us that he was not aware of any of these reports.