<span style="font-size: 14pt">Did it meet, of fell short of yuh expectations?</span>
Anybaddi saw Red Tail dis weekend?
Re: Anybaddi saw Red Tail dis weekend?
I may see it tomorrow or later in the week. I will go and see in honor of Lee Archer a good friend of my late brother and for Joseph Spooner a fambly member by marriage
Kia an Skelly, remember dat dis is not a documentary. If yuh goh watch it expecting it tuh bi, den ie will fall short.
Personally, I found it quite entertaining. Of course, I am very familiar wid di history, but I tried to suppress dat knowledge as I watched it.
I also thought they could have shown certain aspects of the character "Lightening" and his heroics in the promo ads that were ran, which they did not (this would have helped ticket sales).
I tink dem also purposely left out any mention of Eleanor Roosevelt, wanting to highlight di accomplishments of the men, an not diminish dem, as wha always happened in di past.
If anyone wants a more indebt version they can see the 1995 HBO version. with Laurence Fishburne,
Five years ago I met an auditioned for one of the biggest managers in Hollywood. Before the audition we talked about the industry as it relates to Black actors and actresses and Hollywood’s production(or lack thereof) of Black films. What he said vastly opened my eyes about Black entertainment. And after hearing George Lucas talk about the struggle to get his new film Red Tails made last night on The Daily Show(watch the interview!) because there wasn’t enough white people in it , it brought back to life for me, that five year old conversation and the agony of knowing that certain perceptions and problems still exist when making Black movies.
During the time I was meeting with the aforementioned manager (who shall remain nameless), it was 2007 and the movie The Great Debaters was on it’s way into theaters on Christmas weekend. For those who don’t recall, The Great Debaters set in 1935, was a film directed by and starring Denzel Washington that was based on the true story of Melvin B. Tolson, a professor at Wiley College in Texas. He inspires the students to form the school’s first debate team, which went on to challenge Harvard in the national championship. I asked him, “Why won’t studios make more Black films like this to give more Black actors like myself a chance to work in mainstream film?” His answer? “Don’t take this the wrong way, but Black people don’t want to see those kind of movies. The proof is in the ticket sales.”
George Lucas, a white man, spent 23 years working on a film to tell the story of Black people’s place in World War II, only to have studios tell him they couldn’t make it because it was too black. I believe that we as a community are more than Big Momma’s House and everything Tyler Perry makes. I think we can change the perception that Black audiences don’t watch intellectual and/or historical films by moving away from our comfort zone and going to see other movies. Unless, the truth is, all we really want as a Black film audience is cinematic malt liquor(a term coined by Toure) and McDonald’s and Black people have no desire but to be entertained instead of educated. A stereotype I still refuse to believe. For now…
rest of commentary hereIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i dont understand why spike lee or tyler perry didnt make this movie. fi real, i'm quite puzzled. </div></div>
I don't tink eida of dem have di funds separately, and God forbid dem wood stop di bickering and pool dem monies fi mekk a sensible contribution.
Dis movie was at the top a my liss. We really need fi guh out and support it for it is one a di best I have seen inna lang-lang time, and di theater was fulla young black peeps.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i dont understand why spike lee or tyler perry didnt make this movie. fi real, i'm quite puzzled. </div></div>
and they did not direct the original for HBO movie called The Tuskegee Airmen in 1995 eitherIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Gonna see it this Sunday hopefully...
Did you guys hear that George Lucas had to self-financ Red Tails because no studio was willing to finance the movie because it had too man unknown black actors?
How comes dem neva have a prablem financing "Saving Private Ryan" dat had a whole heaps unknown white actors
I went to support the film on Friday, I would give it an C+ for effort but really i found the dialogue lacking and some of the acting wasn't so hot either. I know they did a lot of rewrites and reshoots and maybe that was part of the problem. I really don't think it was better than the HBO movie, just better visuals and being able to see the aerial shots on a bigger screen. I still want Lucas to get back his money so go watch it.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Five years ago I met an auditioned for one of the biggest managers in Hollywood. Before the audition we talked about the industry as it relates to Black actors and actresses and Hollywood’s production(or lack thereof) of Black films. What he said vastly opened my eyes about Black entertainment. And after hearing George Lucas talk about the struggle to get his new film Red Tails made last night on The Daily Show(watch the interview!) because there wasn’t enough white people in it , it brought back to life for me, that five year old conversation and the agony of knowing that certain perceptions and problems still exist when making Black movies.
During the time I was meeting with the aforementioned manager (who shall remain nameless), it was 2007 and the movie The Great Debaters was on it’s way into theaters on Christmas weekend. For those who don’t recall, The Great Debaters set in 1935, was a film directed by and starring Denzel Washington that was based on the true story of Melvin B. Tolson, a professor at Wiley College in Texas. He inspires the students to form the school’s first debate team, which went on to challenge Harvard in the national championship. I asked him, “Why won’t studios make more Black films like this to give more Black actors like myself a chance to work in mainstream film?” His answer? “Don’t take this the wrong way, but Black people don’t want to see those kind of movies. The proof is in the ticket sales.”
George Lucas, a white man, spent 23 years working on a film to tell the story of Black people’s place in World War II, only to have studios tell him they couldn’t make it because it was too black. I believe that we as a community are more than Big Momma’s House and everything Tyler Perry makes. I think we can change the perception that Black audiences don’t watch intellectual and/or historical films by moving away from our comfort zone and going to see other movies. Unless, the truth is, all we really want as a Black film audience is cinematic malt liquor(a term coined by Toure) and McDonald’s and Black people have no desire but to be entertained instead of educated. A stereotype I still refuse to believe. For now…
rest of commentary here </div></div>
they over-analyze too much...
a good movie is a good movie regardless if it's white black or yellow characters...
"crouching tiger hidden dragon" had yellow people & non-english but was still a hit stateside...
they need to stop being crippled by america's silly & shameful racial past and act like adults...
they have yet to grow up and only seem comfortable pushing movies with black characters that are negative in some way--- like "precious", "monster's ball", "training day", etc.
if the powers that be gave some of the other "black" movies a chance and stp being paranoid about their own racial hangups & history, they would soon start to see some intelligent "black" movies do quite well at the box office...
like "ray" with jaimie foxx
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WeNdY_PeNdY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Gonna see it this Sunday hopefully...
Did you guys hear that George Lucas had to self-financ Red Tails because no studio was willing to finance the movie because it had too man unknown black actors?
How comes dem neva have a prablem financing "Saving Private Ryan" dat had a whole heaps unknown white actors
</div></div> unknown, really? Terrence Howard, Cuba Gooding Jr., are 2 who come to mind, both excellent actors and well-known
i don't think it was as bad as people say...
unfortunately in this time of sex & violence-driven movies, films like this could get lost in the shuffle...
i think they could have done without Neyo but hey...