I WAYNE'S BOOK OF LIFE
Wed, Mar 26, 2008 3:32 pm
Interview by Danny Danko

Photo by Potstar
The latest crop of reggae artists to sprout from the fertile Caribbean soil ensures that the resurgence of “roots” music continues growing strong. Twenty-four-year-old I Wayne—born Cliffroy Taylor in Portmore, Jamaica—sang the hypnotically catchy song “Can’t Satisfy Her,” which dominated urban radio in 2004 and 2005. With a new album just out on VP Records called Book of Life and a soft-spoken and humble demeanor, I Wayne sat down with HIGH TIMES to discuss music, ganja and inspiration.
Greetings, I Wayne! We’re very happy you came to see us. It gets a little rough here in New York, and it’s great to see people like yourself who keep it positive and express their true love for ganja.
Yeah, thanks and blessings!
Tell us a little bit about Book of Life.
It’s my album, y’know—I want to teach the people to accept and appreciate nature a little more. The “Book of Life” is actually the I-niverse, y’know—the universe. The I-niverse is always teaching. It’s a great book that no one should try to tear up or destroy.
You had a hit single [“Can’t Satisfy Her”] that was all over the radio a few years ago, with quite a bit of hip-hop crossover appeal. Are there any songs on the new album that you expect to hear on non-reggae radio stations?
It’s unlimited, y’know. No expectations. Whatsoever may forward. We just know, say we have the true light. We know we set the thing real proper. Whomever choose to play it and praise it, we appreciate.
Who do you consider your influences or inspirations?
Sounds like Bob Marley—he was a great teacher, y’know. The great Sizzla Kalonji, Beres Hammond, dem. Dennis Brown, Marcia Griffiths, Sade, Anita Baker.
Your new album has a song called “Natural Ites,” which praises ganja. Do you feel that ganja should be praised more?
Yeah, life herb, y’know, and the I need it. And the I forward in life with the herb and give thanks and I-ration like that. Herb is very essential to life. You can sip it or you wan’ eat it. You can drink it and make tea. The whole cook-up!
I like the herb, y’know—I like feeling like that. Life’s medicine!
Where do you find the best herb in your travels?
To tell the truth, it’s unlimited. I would say probably England and Europe. I need more time here in America, but them mess with the thing and them tamp out the thing. Yeah, so in England, it more pure. And Europe, it’s so close to Africa, where you dunno the African carry the African herb.
Do you have any advice for tourists coming to Jamaica?
Just keep it real and keep it truthful. Stay simple and enjoy the nature. Just be real.
What about ganja growers?
Same t’ing, y’know, as easy as that: natural. Don’t add the chemicals them—that will mess up your brain. That is like drug, and you’re putting drugs inna the medicine.
Is there anything else you want people to know about your music?
As they say, it’s just life’s music. We promote love and life—and, y’know, love is life and life is love. So that’s why I tell the children: Just live upright, without hate. Some people, they have too much bitterness. So just know balance and appreciate life and accept nature as it is and give thanks for what nature presents. Follow the right meditation and I-tation. No necessary war! Give thanks and burn the poli-tricks. They aim to deceive and mislead. Burn up the religious wars.
Does marijuana play a role in your inspiration?
Yeah, because it’s helpful to free your mind. So much confusion go on in the world, but it free you from that. Amongst nature, it’s a really good Ites, and I give thanks. It’s one of the iriest things, marijuana. It’s a healing and a life medicine.
Yet the government always compares it to hard drugs like cocaine and heroin.
The truth is, drugs is drugs. Life herbs is life herbs. Medicine is medicine, y’know.
Is the legalization of ganja possible in Jamaica or America?
Yeah, it’s very possible, ’cause one at a time them have to just stop fight it. Because if you fight the marijuana, then you have to go fight the grass, and if you fight the grass, then you must go fight the trees. So it’s just madness.
High Times Magazine