<span style="font-weight: bold">Promotion starts out of 'Supreme' car need</span>

Barrington Levy in perfoirmance at Heineken Startime, held at the Mas Camp, Oxford Road, New Kingston on Saturday December 3, 2005.
<span style="font-weight: bold">This is the first of a six-part interview with Isaiah Laing, head of Supreme Promotions which puts on the annual 'Sting' concert</span>.
He is not, of course, involved only in music, as he served in the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) from 1976 to 1996, and he has a lot to say about the current crime situation. So along with the 'stinging' memories, The STAR will give you Laing's opinions on crime-fighting.
<span style="font-style: italic">The STAR</span>: How did you get involved in music business?
<span style="font-style: italic">Isaiah Laing:</span> From way back, from 1982. The same police business caused it too, y'know. I wanted to be different from the rest of police. I ended up down at Admiral Town, where I started getting this super-name. What happened is every time I go round and I am in a shoot-out with the guys, I have to be taking the bus to go home in the evenings. And I thought that was very, very dangerous. I happened to go on a bus one night and see some people from Arnett Gardens, from Jungle on the same bus. So I know them going back and tell them friends that this is how me travel. I thought it was too dangerous so I tried everything to get a car. So I put on a dance and made some money. And I did buy the car.
S: Your first dance?
L: No, the second dance.
S: So what was your first dance?
L: The first dance was a it was a party, over in Hopedale in St. Catherine. A guy from over Sydenham played. It was a small sound. The second dance now was over by Prison Oval. Real dance. That was Volcano and People's Choice. And that was the same dance where Barrington Levy lick the song Prison Oval Rock. He made the song right there. Because the prisoners came out on the rooftop and light fire, I don't know where they got newspaper and fire from, and start skank. So Barrington Levy start sing and watch them (Laing sings "the prisoners are skanking some call it Spanish Town but a prison oval rock"
. Yeah. And then he recorded it.
S: On Volcano.
L: Volcano label same way.
S: So what kind of car you bought them time?
L: It was a Corolla.
S: And you feel better going home?
L: Yeah. I could drive home by myself. Nobody could study where I go.
S: So when you were on the bus and you saw the people you were armed?
L: Yeah man, I was armed. I was a detective, so I had my nine millimetre. I was one of the first young police in West Kingston to get a nine millimetre. I got one in 1980. Two came to West Kingston. A next constable got one and I got one. Everybody else carried a .38.
S: So did you intend for this dance thing to be long-term thing, or you just wanted to buy a car, stop and come out of it?
L: Because of what transpired from the first one, I did not know what the end would be, so I just kept on keeping them. I ended up doing something at Cinema 2 in 1984 called the 'Four Sound Clash'.
S: Which four sounds were in that?
L: It was Jammys, Black Scorpio, Sugar Minott's Youthman Promotions and Black Star. Tenor Saw was on Youth Promotions and Jammys had Risto Benjie, Johnny Osbourne, General Trees was on Scorpio, Tiger and Brigadier on Black Star.
S: Who tek de dance?
L: The dance now, went down in the morning to Sugar Minott and Jammys. In the morning when Sugar Minott draw some tune and Tenor Saw walk out on that stage, the place flatten. Place gwaan bad man, with Tenor Saw a sing dem big song deh.
S: That wasn't the Ring The Alarm dance?
L: No no. That song was there. (He reminisces a bit). There was a dance that did mash up y'nuh man. Some security dog got away and run in the crowd, a policeman fire some shot in the air and that was the end of it. The people start run and say is Laing and Back Bush man in shoot-out. Girls went over the wall like men.
S: And you see your money go down the drain.
L: No, we made the money already. It was like 4:30 in the morning. We had about 14,000 people in the dance at $10. And later on that same year, here comes Sting.
S: 1984?
L: Mmm hmmm.
Tomorrow: Sting and more thoughts on crime.

<span style="font-weight: bold">Barrington Levy's dancehall standard Prison Oval Rock was created at a dance put on by Isaiah Laing at the Spanish Town Prison Oval. </span>- file

Barrington Levy in perfoirmance at Heineken Startime, held at the Mas Camp, Oxford Road, New Kingston on Saturday December 3, 2005.
<span style="font-weight: bold">This is the first of a six-part interview with Isaiah Laing, head of Supreme Promotions which puts on the annual 'Sting' concert</span>.
He is not, of course, involved only in music, as he served in the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) from 1976 to 1996, and he has a lot to say about the current crime situation. So along with the 'stinging' memories, The STAR will give you Laing's opinions on crime-fighting.
<span style="font-style: italic">The STAR</span>: How did you get involved in music business?
<span style="font-style: italic">Isaiah Laing:</span> From way back, from 1982. The same police business caused it too, y'know. I wanted to be different from the rest of police. I ended up down at Admiral Town, where I started getting this super-name. What happened is every time I go round and I am in a shoot-out with the guys, I have to be taking the bus to go home in the evenings. And I thought that was very, very dangerous. I happened to go on a bus one night and see some people from Arnett Gardens, from Jungle on the same bus. So I know them going back and tell them friends that this is how me travel. I thought it was too dangerous so I tried everything to get a car. So I put on a dance and made some money. And I did buy the car.
S: Your first dance?
L: No, the second dance.
S: So what was your first dance?
L: The first dance was a it was a party, over in Hopedale in St. Catherine. A guy from over Sydenham played. It was a small sound. The second dance now was over by Prison Oval. Real dance. That was Volcano and People's Choice. And that was the same dance where Barrington Levy lick the song Prison Oval Rock. He made the song right there. Because the prisoners came out on the rooftop and light fire, I don't know where they got newspaper and fire from, and start skank. So Barrington Levy start sing and watch them (Laing sings "the prisoners are skanking some call it Spanish Town but a prison oval rock"
. Yeah. And then he recorded it. S: On Volcano.
L: Volcano label same way.
S: So what kind of car you bought them time?
L: It was a Corolla.
S: And you feel better going home?
L: Yeah. I could drive home by myself. Nobody could study where I go.
S: So when you were on the bus and you saw the people you were armed?
L: Yeah man, I was armed. I was a detective, so I had my nine millimetre. I was one of the first young police in West Kingston to get a nine millimetre. I got one in 1980. Two came to West Kingston. A next constable got one and I got one. Everybody else carried a .38.
S: So did you intend for this dance thing to be long-term thing, or you just wanted to buy a car, stop and come out of it?
L: Because of what transpired from the first one, I did not know what the end would be, so I just kept on keeping them. I ended up doing something at Cinema 2 in 1984 called the 'Four Sound Clash'.
S: Which four sounds were in that?
L: It was Jammys, Black Scorpio, Sugar Minott's Youthman Promotions and Black Star. Tenor Saw was on Youth Promotions and Jammys had Risto Benjie, Johnny Osbourne, General Trees was on Scorpio, Tiger and Brigadier on Black Star.
S: Who tek de dance?
L: The dance now, went down in the morning to Sugar Minott and Jammys. In the morning when Sugar Minott draw some tune and Tenor Saw walk out on that stage, the place flatten. Place gwaan bad man, with Tenor Saw a sing dem big song deh.
S: That wasn't the Ring The Alarm dance?
L: No no. That song was there. (He reminisces a bit). There was a dance that did mash up y'nuh man. Some security dog got away and run in the crowd, a policeman fire some shot in the air and that was the end of it. The people start run and say is Laing and Back Bush man in shoot-out. Girls went over the wall like men.
S: And you see your money go down the drain.
L: No, we made the money already. It was like 4:30 in the morning. We had about 14,000 people in the dance at $10. And later on that same year, here comes Sting.
S: 1984?
L: Mmm hmmm.
Tomorrow: Sting and more thoughts on crime.

<span style="font-weight: bold">Barrington Levy's dancehall standard Prison Oval Rock was created at a dance put on by Isaiah Laing at the Spanish Town Prison Oval. </span>- file