If you were to recommend <span style="font-weight: bold">one artist </span>to someone wanting to learn Reggae Music who would it be?
ONE ARTIST
Re: ONE ARTIST
It's crazy to think that 8 years ago I did not even know who Dennis Brown was...
Now I can't hear the man's voice with out the volume go up and smile come to my face
Dennis Brown was the "one artist" my yardie friend recommended when I was first learning Reggae...
I don't think I have the album with John Holt tho
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BanDanna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you were to recommend <span style="font-weight: bold">one artist </span>to someone wanting to learn Reggae Music who would it be?
for me...it depends on the person...and what i know about their musical tastes. I might suggest John Holt for an older person...but not a young one. For younger folks...i'd start them on Morgan Heritage, Damien....etc....
you can't go wrong with D Brown or Bob...no matter what the age
If someone wanted to hear ROOTS REGGAE for instace, I would tell them to go see a Burning Spear show
Spear in San Francisco 5 years ago <span style="font-style: italic">*sigh*</span> that show made me feel the roots in my boots
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BanDanna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">good point Loops, I really think it's taste more than age tho..
after all I is a young smaddy
and I love mi some John Holt
i is an old smaddy...and John Holt don't do a thing for me. I've seen him live though...and the women did swoon.
much prefer Gregory myself....and Freddie
hmmm, I dont know how to gage peoples taste, because both my sons Love Love Rap, and they both love Reggae. One loves dancehall the other one loves Roots. My granddaughter (9yrs old) has been rocking to Bob since she was a baby!
Grandkids seem to love Morgan Heritage, Bob Marley, Stephen Marley. They are not allowed to listen to dancehall, same as they are not allowed to listen to Rap!
Was in Jamaica once and one guy that was with us confessed that he hated Reggae Music, said it gave him a headache. He probably was in his mid to late forties. Thing is he had never been exposed to Reggae before he went to Jamaica. I was surprised at his confession because he mostly was listening to the live bands on the beach, and for the most part that is easy listening or so I thought.
Dancehall is nearly impossible to understand if you dont understand Patois. Some wicked beats that will keep you on your feet, however, I have always wondered if some people really know the lyrics that they are dancing to.
Coming to my house most likely you will only hear Reggae playing.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BanDanna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you were to recommend <span style="font-weight: bold">one artist </span>to someone wanting to learn Reggae Music who would it be?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">one album wi dweet...John Holt an Dennis Brown album ...classic , wikked an deadly... </div></div>
a dis album yuh chat bout Vannie?
or Morgan Heritage