UB40 - Wonder what they're up to
Who does the toasting for them?
Ah it was Astro:
One of the founding members of reggae act UB40 has quit the band after more than 30 years, complaining that it was making him "miserable".
Astro, a vocalist and trumpet player, broke the news to his bandmates - who scored hits with songs such as One In Ten and Red Red Wine - on Friday, taking them by surprise.
The group's best-known singer Ali Campbell left in 2008 along with keyboard player Mickey Virtue. Four of the remaining members including Astro (whose real name is Terence Wilson) were declared bankrupt two years ago
How is this even possible?
The band responded to the latest departure by saying he had let down fans by walking out on his upcoming touring commitments.
Astro said the group had been "like a rudderless ship" and he said his heart was not in their most recent album Getting Over The Storm, complaining his contribution had been as a backing vocalist.
He said: "I cannot bear to see what we are offering to our loyal fans who have stood by us through thick and thin. I think it's clear that I've had enough of being depressed, as I'm sure other members are, but the difference is I'm not prepared to continue to be miserable at home and work."
In a statement the group said: "UB40 are shocked and saddened by not only Astro's decision to quit the band, but also his refusal to honour his touring commitments. We have several tours booked in the coming months, including our biggest UK tour for three years, and he has not only let us down but also our fans.
"While we are naturally disappointed that Astro will not be with us at these shows, UB40 will continue and are looking forward to a positive 2014."
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/en...-29776718.htmlLast edited by Tropicana; 08-04-2014, 11:52 AM.
reached out to them back in early 2000 to do a show…they told me that they were just regrouping, in the studio n planning to tour at sometime in the future….didnt follow up as i moved
at any rate, the bank had serious financial problems, purported due to the non-payment of taxes by DEP INT'L their record firm n management company…as the story goes, Al Campbell, the founding member tried to alert the band to impending financial woes but the band wich included his brother took the side of the firm…so he left….bad feelings all around, purportedly transpired n the band was eventually forced into bankruptcy, something Al said he warned them about….at anyhow, AL moved to Jamaica for awhile i believe…don't know if he is still there…think he had a studio at his home there….seh dis as i remember something about his having said that it is not on to have a studio at ur home as everybody hangs out there n too many hangers on hang out there….
sad wen u know dat dem sell 70 million n had 50 chart hits….
Without Ali Campbell there can be no UB40, His voice is so distinctive that it can't be replaced. It was a signature sound.
There is a Toronto connection Trops. I don't know if you have ever heard or seen a Jason Wilson and Tabarruk show. Mickey Virtue is Jason's cousin, if I'm not mistaken, and they toured various Tabarruk strongholds across Canada about 6 summers ago...with Mickey as their special guest.
They did the same about 10 years ago with Aswad's Brinsley Forde...who is also a great singer and performer. They stayed at my summer place up near Huntsville and played at that bar I used to be a partner in located in Dwight. GREAT shows. We had Jo Jo Bennett and the Sattalites up there as well.
Brinsley ended up doing some radio shows for the BBC, That summer as he toured Canada with Tabarruk he documented highlights of the trip in order to do shows regarding the Reggae 'scene' in Canada. HE actually interviewed ME...regarding Reggae Plus Radio. V E R Y strange. I'm the one who should have been interviewing him given his stature and success.
I remember an Ali Campbell solo cd...which was kind of disappointing. After that...I lost track of him. Back in the Barry G/David Rodigan soundclash days UB40 used to provide Mr. Rodigan with some nifty 'specials'. Check out their rendition of Ken Boothe's 'The Train is Coming'. Powerful version. More power? Aswad's 'Shine'.Last edited by Reggae plus; 08-05-2014, 12:08 PM.