Re: Coless Come Buk Magic @ Calabash 2009
After lunch and Jakes we decided to do some shopping.
Now, I had spotted Magix walking around earlier, but was not able to call out to him. Figured its a long day and he cant be leaving yet so I will pass by him again. And I did, while I was looking at some very cool shirts whose design is art and done by hand by a woman from Barbados. Gosh I wish I remember her name.
Anyway, I was looking at the shirts when I see Magix again so I yelled out "Magix!" he turned, didnt see me, and I yelled again "Magix" I waved, he came over, we chatted, did the introductions, he and Marcia got into a conversation about Cuba, where Marcia had just returned from a few days before and where Magix was heading to in a few days. Chatted for a little while, took some pics, fling up mi foot pon magix, laughed, chatted about whats next, Magix said he was leaving that day. Said out goodbyes.
<span style="font-weight: bold">BTW - Magix, how mi nuh get mi picha yet????????</span>
Left the stalls, passed by Mutabaruka sitting and reasoning and went back over to Jack Spratts.

Got a drink and ran into <span style="font-weight: bold">Marlon James </span> Author of John Crow's Devil and The Book of Night Women. I had the latter in my bag, got that signed. We chatted for a while, he and Marcia doing some catching up.
We missed a lot of that afternoon as we headed to Black River to run some errands but got back in time for Open Mike, which was anyone reading whatever for two minutes. Some were funny, some were good, some were bad, but all were entertaining. It provided a medium for those unpublished and fresh in the business to borrow the ears of listeners.
A pic from open mike:

If I remember correctly, this one guy was really good. Wish I knew his name.
After lunch and Jakes we decided to do some shopping.
Now, I had spotted Magix walking around earlier, but was not able to call out to him. Figured its a long day and he cant be leaving yet so I will pass by him again. And I did, while I was looking at some very cool shirts whose design is art and done by hand by a woman from Barbados. Gosh I wish I remember her name.
Anyway, I was looking at the shirts when I see Magix again so I yelled out "Magix!" he turned, didnt see me, and I yelled again "Magix" I waved, he came over, we chatted, did the introductions, he and Marcia got into a conversation about Cuba, where Marcia had just returned from a few days before and where Magix was heading to in a few days. Chatted for a little while, took some pics, fling up mi foot pon magix, laughed, chatted about whats next, Magix said he was leaving that day. Said out goodbyes.
<span style="font-weight: bold">BTW - Magix, how mi nuh get mi picha yet????????</span>
Left the stalls, passed by Mutabaruka sitting and reasoning and went back over to Jack Spratts.

Got a drink and ran into <span style="font-weight: bold">Marlon James </span> Author of John Crow's Devil and The Book of Night Women. I had the latter in my bag, got that signed. We chatted for a while, he and Marcia doing some catching up.
We missed a lot of that afternoon as we headed to Black River to run some errands but got back in time for Open Mike, which was anyone reading whatever for two minutes. Some were funny, some were good, some were bad, but all were entertaining. It provided a medium for those unpublished and fresh in the business to borrow the ears of listeners.
A pic from open mike:

If I remember correctly, this one guy was really good. Wish I knew his name.

)</div></div>

Enjoyed the trip, sounds like something I would really enjoy.