anybody want to join me in reading "Miguel Street" by VS Naipaul....we could read it and meet for a discussion say mid April or u could post as u read....believe me it is worth a read plus a reread and it would be lovely to hear different reactions to the characters...how real to life etc..believe me u gwine to recognise people from u island , u village, hometown ...holla back
" Miguel Street" book discussion forming...
Re: " Miguel Street" book discussion forming...
Originally posted by Bigtime:
[qb] Weh Wahalla deh? Me know seh a one a fe him favourate.
Best part a di part bout oiling de cricket bat. Mi still tell mi missus bout dat [/qb]
I supringly cant remember much of it.... I know I read it literally a number of times and recall laughing... What I remember most is the last story..When the narrator realises that what he had thought was wonderful was not really so... Basically his hero Hat was a shell and he had to move on. He had to run... It took me years to understand it... But in the end despite the levity of the stories you cannot go back.... The past is gone...
Originally posted by Wahalla:
[qb] I supringly cant remember much of it.... I know I read it literally a number of times and recall laughing... What I remember most is the last story..When the narrator realises that what he had thought was wonderful was not really so... Basically his hero Hat was a shell and he had to move on. He had to run... It took me years to understand it... But in the end despite the levity of the stories you cannot go back.... The past is gone... [/qb]
was this the funny book with a collection of stories about all those people in one community? where one boy took CXC math like 6 times and couldnt pass it and the whole neighbourhood was ridiculing him?
what about the one with the guy who paid for passage to go to foreign and the people dropped him off bacj in tirnidad after taking him around the island..lol
i could be mixing this work up with something else..but it was written by V S Naipaul
Did anybaady read Miguel Street in di en? Mi did jus a browse an' dis page mek mi join unooo book club!!!!!
Miguel Street bring back some serious memories, mi afi dig out min' di laas time mi did read it was a few years ago. Mi did read it in high school and laugh till mi nearly dead!
Mi favourite character definitely was Man Man!!! di laas scene when Man Man a portray John di Baptis ar smaady, mi cyaah membah ah who, but im seh "Stone me my Bredren Stone Me! and when di stone dem lik him, im start fi cuss and 'treat'n dem. Bway dat did funny bad!!!
Come on guys talk more bout the book wha unuoo tink bout Laura in de early chapters.... Some realism lik us dough whe yuh tink?