Has anyone read this yet? I want to, but I enjoyed Angela's Ashes and 'Tis so much that I am afraid of being disappointed.
Frank McCourt's Teacher Man
Re: Frank McCourt's Teacher Man
Has anyone read this yet? I want to, but I enjoyed Angela's Ashes and 'Tis so much that I am afraid of being disappointed.
ColeS, I've read AA and Tis,as well, and I'd be confident that this latest could match the first two. He's very good at memoirs, and considering that he was a teacher in New York, should have some interesting stories to tell.
I'll see if I can get this at the library.
Nice review here:
http://www.thestar.com/NASApp/cs/Content...ol=969483191630
Just picked up Teacher Man from the library near work. Because is a new book, I only get it for one week instead of three. So mi ago staat read ie tinnite tinnite! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img]
i've finished the book. it's good. an easier read than Angela's Ashes - not as much misery. it's very affirming of the teaching profession. the stories of the students are marvellous, the ups and downs, the times when he was challenged and how he dealt with or failed to deal with them.
"If I knew anything about Sigmund Freud and psychoanalysis I'd be able to trace all my troubles to my miserable childhood in Irland. That miserable childhood deprived me of self-esteem, triggered spasms of self pity, paralyzed my emotions, made me cranky, envious and disrespectful of authority, retarded my devleopment, crippled my doings with the opposite sex, kept me from rising in the world and made me unfit, almost, for human society. How I became a teacher at all and remained one is a miracle and I have to give myself full marks for surviving all those years in the classrooms of New York. Ther should be a medal for people who survive miserable childhoods and become teachers, and I should be first in line for the medal and whatever bars might be appended for ensuing miseries."
opening lines.
MG - Tap Lie! Yuh done areaddy??!!!??? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]
Wow - hats off to yuh!
I know I will take more than a week, so I cant get it from the library, so I ordered mine today. I hope to get it in 3 business days (or less). If Marley decides to be nice to me, I may finish it by mid January [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Mi still cyaan believe seh yuh done [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img]
So, its more like "Tis then? I cant wait to read it! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/bannana_purple.gif[/img]