Yes or no? Is the situation moving upward or downward? Is it positive or negative? Want to make a prediction of where you think music will go? Who will lead? Who will fall from prominence? What direction will music in the Dancehall take? Are they following Hip Hop? Should that continue? Will it? Come on people...Get out your crystal ball and reveal ALL. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
2006...DoesThe Jamaican Music Scene Need Change?
Re: 2006...DoesThe Jamaican Music Scene Need Change?
well personally, as a dj, I have really enjoyed the swing back to consciousness which I think really started with sizzla's solid as a rock...I like to hear both in the club and like to play both.
i like the trend and hope it maintains...which it has been on a fairly steady track.
one thing i would say is that the j'can artists have to start doing better stage shows to be taken seriously...
too much pulling up every 5 minutes cutting off the flow of the show...too much talking f'ery & bunning homosexuals & not enough music, an a dash whe tune after 5 seconds when ppl pay dem money fi 'ear di song dem...
well personally, as a dj, I have really enjoyed the swing back to consciousness which I think really started with sizzla's solid as a rock...I like to hear both in the club and like to play both.
i like the trend and hope it maintains...which it has been on a fairly steady track.
fe real I love dat mi cyan play conscious music an de floor pack an han dem een a de air. Yuh cyaan guh a dance a yaad an nuh hear consciousness een a de dance again.
Only some eedyat dj's roun here who nuh getee yet di deh still a play jump up all night long. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img]
yeah man, too many cats have no ability to pace...a good dance has it's own rythym to hit and guide the vibe.
I also agree with some of the 'performances' people run- play the damn songs man, and if you want to make statements, make some, but make them smart, worse things goin on than rumpeters rumpetring.
what is up with few bars of a song and cut off...never liked that, an I'm glad to hear an artist proud of his/her songs to the point they let the tune run it's course.