Garnett Silk did have pickney?????
Re: Garnett Silk did have pickney?????
Born in central Jamaica December 24 1989, Fabian ‘Duce Califa’ Smith was grown quite differently as opposed to the average Jamaican minor. Leaving Manchester to Ochi Rios at the age of six, Duce was soon introduced to the Hip Hop world through the voice and message of Tupac Amaru Shakur. This is what sparked his interest in the foreign genre, according to the artist. “The music was substitute for the father I never got a chance to know.” Duce stated. This interest that he developed in Hip hop was later fuelled when he was in the seventh grade. Duce witnessed his first rap battle in the York castle High school yard and started writing rhymes of his own that very day. Even at this time however, he still was not an emcee, merely a writer, honing his underdeveloped skills. It was not long after when he and his small family moved back to Manchester in 2003 that he was exposed to others who expressed themselves through the same medium he tried to utilize; Hip Hop. Duce found himself in a rap Duo when he was in the eighth grade and this soon formed into a whole crew in less than a year. The rapper says that this was one of the most important experiences of his life, because it taught him one of his greatest lessons, not only where music is concerned but family. He said: “I learned that we can choose family in life thanks to such experiences, although it occurred to me much later.” It was around this time that he became familiar with the music of east coast emcees and this was his greatest influence where his music is concerned. Duce managed to make a name for himself in High School by the time he was in the ninth grade and by the time he was a senior, he was highly respected and feared by peers and even those older. His reputation was made through battling and rapping on the street corners for those willing to listen or daring to challenge. It was the many events that transpired when he returned to Manchester that greatly influenced the nature of his music, now that he was at the top of his game, as he thought at the time. But he soon realized just how much he had grown since his journey with Hip Hop throughout High School. Although he lacked the buzz any artist would desire, he was already able to baffle the minds of listeners with clever wordplay and deep metaphors, expressing himself how he pleased. The Jamaican rap artist’s dream of making it into the mainstream Hip Hop market is now in the process of realization. He has recently released a track on which he collaborated with a fellow rap artist from Grenada called Hard Dayz. The track is entitled “My life” and has got some attention from the media and especially listeners in the streets of the North and south coast. Duce Califa is presently completing a project with producers Mighty Mike and Lenky Marsden, attempting to win over the Jamaican crowd and make it to the ears of foreigners. So far he has released a track produced by Mighty Mike and Lenky Marsden entitled “Written in the stars.” In addition to this the young artist is also teaming up with producer Delroy Collins on Rhythem track records. This happens to be the label that the rapper’s father, who is a renowned Reggae artist, did his first recording for. Regardless of the fact that he is the second eldest child to Novlyn ‘Lovey’ Banton and Reggae Icon Garnet Damon ‘Silk’ Smith and was expected to follow the reggae tradition of his family, Duce explains: “I respect my father and what he did, but what was his is not mine. And just as we are different men, we have different dreams. Besides I do not think I could do the people any justice in trying to make a replica of what he stood for, because that is not me.” Now the eighteen year old rap artist has his mind set on representing Jam rock to the best of his abilities, while on the path to becoming Jamaica’s first Hip Hop icon.