mi nuh know the last time mi read it was mussie 2nd form and mi fly choo it like smaddy a chase mi suh mi nevah analyze it in depth mi nuh really care for it either
dem chat bout the Uncle Tom dem but what me a read so far is nat so much of loving massa but more fi im faith in de christian god whe mek im put up wid so much
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Seveen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the enslaved did not arrive here as christians - they were taught christianity and it was often the "tool" that kept the enslaved docile
google christianity and slavery . . . </div></div>
Yes that definitely was the tool that kept them docile. Does that mean the 'Uncle Tom' is a docile Christian person?
Let all who are under the yoke of slavery regard their masters as worthy of all honor, so that the name of God and the teaching may not be blasphemed. Those who have believing masters must not be disrespectful to them on the ground that they are members of the church; rather they must serve them all the more, since those who benefit by their service are believers and beloved. Teach and urge these duties. Whoever teaches otherwise and does not agree with the sound words of our Lord Jesus Christ and the teaching that is in accordance with godliness, is conceited, understanding nothing, and has a morbid craving for controversy and for disputes about words. From these come envy, dissension, slander, base suspicions, and wrangling among those who are depraved in mind and bereft of the truth, imagining that godliness is a means of gain. (1Tim. 6:1-5)
Slaves, obey your earthly masters with fear and trembling, in singleness of heart, as you obey Christ; not only while being watched, and in order to please them, but as slaves of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart. (Eph. 6:5-6)
Tell slaves to be submissive to their masters and to give satisfaction in every respect; they are not to talk back, not to pilfer, but to show complete and perfect fidelity, so that in everything they may be an ornament to the doctrine of God our Savior. (Titus 2:9-10)
Slaves, accept the authority of your masters with all deference, not only those who are kind and gentle but also those who are harsh. For it is a credit to you if, being aware of God, you endure pain while suffering unjustly. If you endure when you are beaten for doing wrong, what credit is that? But if you endure when you do right and suffer for it, you have God's approval. (1Pet. 2:18-29)
The slave should be resigned to his lot, in obeying his master he is obeying God... (Saint John Chrysostom)
...slavery is now penal in character and planned by that law which commands the preservation of the natural order and forbids disturbance. (Saint Augustine)
As Kenneth Stamp wrote in The Peculiar Institution, Christianity actually became a way to add value to slaves in America:
...when southern clergy became ardent defenders of slavery, the master class could look upon organized religion as an ally ...the gospel, instead of becoming a mean of creating trouble and strive, was really the best instrument to preserve peace and good conduct among the negroes.
Through teaching slaves the message of the Bible, they could be encouraged to bear the earthly burden in exchange for heavenly rewards later on - and they could be frightened into believing that disobedience to earthly masters would be perceived by God as disobedience to Him. Ironically, enforced illiteracy prevented slaves from reading the Bible themselves. This is ironic because a similar situation existed in Europe during the Middle Ages, as illiterate peasants and serfs were prevented from reading the Bible in their own language - a situation which was instrumental in the Protestant revolution. Now, Protestants were doing much the same thing African slaves: using the authority of their Bible and the dogma of their religion to repress a group of people without even allowing them to read the basis of authority on their own.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Seveen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i used to go to a nail shop in atlanta owned by a woman that was profoundly christian
one day she told me she prayed with her employees every day
and that they understood that God had given her the power to be their boss
she never saw me again </div></div>
see this explains the christianity to control the slave aspect
but who/what makes an 'Uncle Tom' an Uncle Tom. I have heard the term and after reading the book (mi near the end now) I see it more as religion used to control as opposed to loving white massa. If anything I attribute the Uncle Tom behavior to the mulattoes in the book.
I thought the phrase uncle tom referred to docile or accepting slaves. I was never aware of any reference to christianity. More so, slaves that believed the whites are superior theory and acted accordingly.
I haven't read that book since teen years. Maybe I should revisit and read through the eyes of an adult.
Theatrical productions of Uncle Tom's Cabin played throughout the nadir (post Civil War and Reconstruction); but since the novel's indictment of slavery was no longer congenial to an increasingly white society, rewrites changed Uncle Tom from a martyr who gave his life to protect the people into a sentimental dope who was loyal to kindly masters. In the black community, Uncle Tom eventually came to mean an African American who sells out his people's interests and still does today. In my opinion the phrase "uncle tom" should not be used today by black people because it degrades the status of a man who wasn't in fact a sell out but a hero who's name should be used with reverence not disgrace.
the real uncle tom was a black man born into slavery who gave his life to protect other slaves. when his story was turned into a movie, the writers re-worked the script making uncle tom's character the opposite; a slave who was loyal to his master. unfortunately, this has become the most commonly known image of uncle tom. because of the film, the term "uncle tom" has become synonomous with "sellout", degrading the real uncle tom. so once again, the white man has successfully managed to teach blacks an incorrect, caucasion-favoring version of history.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Seveen</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> because of the film, the term "uncle tom" has become synonomous with "sellout", degrading the real uncle tom. so once again, the white man has successfully managed to teach blacks an incorrect, caucasion-favoring version of history.
the real uncle tom was a black man born into slavery who gave his life to protect other slaves. when his story was turned into a movie, the writers re-worked the script making uncle tom's character the opposite; a slave who was loyal to his master. unfortunately, this has become the most commonly known image of uncle tom. because of the film, the term "uncle tom" has become synonomous with "sellout", degrading the real uncle tom. so once again, the white man has successfully managed to teach blacks an incorrect, caucasion-favoring version of history.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.