Have people heard this song, was released in JA late 2005 and gives a graphic unflinching narrative of life in your typical garrison. I find it riveting not that I expereince all of the stuff, but I remeber in 1980 as he said "Jamaica explode" that was election year, and trinity was the baddest man on the force, while I was barely 3+ or so, I clearly remember my grandaunt daughter who lived in Sherlock cresent came crying to my grandparents house because some laborites took the door off her apartment forcing her to move cause dem teking over the area. Mi grandfada wha was ex -JCF had to call some eradication men that he knew to escort her back to sherlock and put her door back on, remember clearly the brown eradication car park a the gate even now, man 1980 was scary year, I still remember stand up Jamaica when you hear the bell ad. Anyone else feeling this song, whe the youth deh.. we bout the same age yu remember 1980 madness, incidentally Cham also grew up in sherlock so he must have been seeing the same crazyness. Just funny how a song can bring back stuff you thought yu forgot.
Cham Ghetto story
Re: Cham Ghetto story
I think I was tramatized, how can a 3 year old remember clearly that stuff, and I saw several people getting beat by crowds due to wearing the wrong color, Jamaica really got screwed through politics. Jamaica need a truth commision for what happened that year in 1980, too much open questions and the people still not fully recovered. So Q 1980 was a good year also if you had your child. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
my daughter got that song on a CD made for her by a schoolmate who recently migrated from Jamaica. I've listened to it a couple times, and want to listen to it more. it sounded to me more like a nostalgia tune - good times still had in the midst of all the rough tings weh wenna gwaan, but maybe mi need fi lissen harder.
mi also hear the "Uptown Story" response song, by mi nuh know who, pon di same CD. Had to say i thought of draino when i heard that song. the lyrics made me laff and shake mi head.
bway..K20 yu late..yu really haffi spen less time touring an more time idling... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img]
seet yah
http://www.jamaicans.com/forums/showflat...=0#Post19555132
bway..K20 yu late..yu really haffi spen less time touring an more time idling... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img]
seet yah
http://www.jamaicans.com/forums/showflat...=0#Post19555132
Lawks mi shame [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]...sorry Arjen..great minds think alike look like the song have the same effect pon yu.
Have people heard this song, was released in JA late 2005 and gives a graphic unflinching narrative of life in your typical garrison. I find it riveting not that I expereince all of the stuff, but I remeber in 1980 as he said "Jamaica explode" that was election year, and trinity was the baddest man on the force, while I was barely 3+ or so, I clearly remember my grandaunt daughter who lived in Sherlock cresent came crying to my grandparents house because some laborites took the door off her apartment forcing her to move cause dem teking over the area. Mi grandfada wha was ex -JCF had to call some eradication men that he knew to escort her back to sherlock and put her door back on, remember clearly the brown eradication car park a the gate even now, man 1980 was scary year, I still remember stand up Jamaica when you hear the bell ad. Anyone else feeling this song, whe the youth deh.. we bout the same age yu remember 1980 madness, incidentally Cham also grew up in sherlock so he must have been seeing the same crazyness. Just funny how a song can bring back stuff you thought yu forgot.
King20;
I remember Arjen posted the lyrics a little while back;
Yes I remember the 1980 election well…it was insane…even as a youtman I can remember the feeling of dread & terror in kingston…I was attending duhaney park primary at the time…I'll never forget the sound of gunshots ringing out non-stop in waterhouse…I'll never forget how dem come inna mi yaad & chop up mi neighbor who was in my yard at the time…yea I remember those days…
Anyway the song is getting felt here in the n.y.c & I always thought Cham was one of the most underrated dj's
King20;
Yes I remember the 1980 election well…it was insane…even as a youtman I can remember the feeling of dread & terror in kingston…I was attending duhaney park primary at the time…I'll never forget the sound of gunshots ringing out non-stop in waterhouse…I'll never forget how dem come inna mi yaad & chop up mi neighbor who was in my yard at the time…yea I remember those days…
Anyway the song is getting felt here in the n.y.c & I always thought Cham was one of the most underrated dj's
duhaney park did hot too...
i remember police & soldier a run inna somebody yard all di while pon hemingsway crescent
Whe dem deh when di ghetto run hot
When we looking the food fi di pot
Kingston we deh when Massop get shot
Kingston we deh when Copper get shot
When di politics friction drop
When di bomb a drop pon housetop
And every morning a dead man on spot
And di yout dem go school through shot
<ghetto red hot>-------supercat
I think I was tramatized, how can a 3 year old remember clearly that stuff, and I saw several people getting beat by crowds due to wearing the wrong color, Jamaica really got screwed through politics. Jamaica need a truth commision for what happened that year in 1980, too much open questions and the people still not fully recovered. So Q 1980 was a good year also if you had your child. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
you are so right...
it comeen like how dem have the hearings now in rwanda;
not comparing it to rwanda but some questions have to be answered...that year is etched forever in my memory & someday i will tell my youths what j-a was like at that time
One of my best male friends used to BLAST this in his car all the time...I LOVED the riddem (turn it up LOUD and just riiide de riddem!!!) but it seemed so violent to me, still. I know he is talking about things of the past, but also he's saying they are now the ones with the "heat"...
Don't you think this is supporting more crime and violence? Just a question....
One of my best male friends used to BLAST this in his car all the time...I LOVED the riddem (turn it up LOUD and just riiide de riddem!!!) but it seemed so violent to me, still. I know he is talking about things of the past, but also he's saying they are now the ones with the "heat"...
Don't you think this is supporting more crime and violence? Just a question....
no, and for lack of a better term .... this is a Jamaican thing.. you would not even begin to overstand the song unless you have experienced in reality the anarchy of election time in Jamaica or the attitude of individuals so blinded by party politics they will do all manner of crazyness, Jah Youth made a good anology to the Rwanda incident, not on that scale but those group of roving gangs were just as crazy. Maybe someone can try to explain it but it will an exercise in futility, unless you really lived it and understand the history of politics in jamaica it just dont do it any justice. It is not just lyrics of the song that Jamaicans repond to so strongly, but the actual events of that year and afterwards, which resulted in the mass migration and so many of us now living overseas. The fact you ask that question shows you just dont get it.
Whe dem deh when di ghetto run hot
When we looking the food fi di pot
Kingston we deh when Massop get shot
Kingston we deh when Copper get shot
When di politics friction drop
When di bomb a drop pon housetop
And every morning a dead man on spot
And di yout dem go school through shot
<ghetto red hot>-------supercat
yeah mi know this song, but it no really capture the rawness of ghetto sorty mussi because Cham sing it all bruk up and it sound like him do it in one take, the first time mi hear it mi a wonder if the man just a do one joke ting, afta mi listen closely it just stop mi in a mi tracks and it made it more authentic IMO.
King20;
duhaney park did hot too...
i remember police & soldier a run inna somebody yard all di while pon hemingsway crescent
Duhaney Park was on fire, Brook Valley and Sherlock cresent was going at it big time, Q.. I ended up at George headley primary so I know where longfellow is.