lately i have been listening solely to Peter Tosh...every single thing i have on him has been playing an playing an playing an playing....an as i meditate on his lyrics especially wen he says that u cannot smile while u singing songs of revolution ...an it came to me that Bob's feel good lyrics, aldoah wid some serious commentary , is akin to MLK's methods of the civil rights....acommodating , middle of the road...etc
while Peter's militant and oh so profound lyrics are just like Malcolm X's 'by any means necessary'
an it also occurred to me how under valued both Peter n Malcolm are in the scheme of things...we have a MLK day etc but Malcolm is still seen as a parriah of sorts because of his stance...Peter's music ,while being absolutely brilliant is undermined and outshone by one love etc
an fi some reason it a mek mi mad
while Peter's militant and oh so profound lyrics are just like Malcolm X's 'by any means necessary'
an it also occurred to me how under valued both Peter n Malcolm are in the scheme of things...we have a MLK day etc but Malcolm is still seen as a parriah of sorts because of his stance...Peter's music ,while being absolutely brilliant is undermined and outshone by one love etc
an fi some reason it a mek mi mad