Mi was introduced to dis type of music back inna bout 95 because dis yute inna mi class liked it and had it on a CD player. Now mi deh a dis country and i dont get it. To me these guys just put 2 words together and dats it. to me de music makes no sense.
if dem a deal wid gun dem sing bout gun. if dem a sing but gyal dem sing bout gyal.
ok..me just asking...my limited understanding of rap would lead me to believe seh is the same thing dem a do, boast bout house and car and gyal and how bad dem is. ..but in ebonics instead a patwa.
mi noh know...mi just asking as me not really a fan of either type of music.
Mi was introduced to dis type of music back inna bout 95 because dis yute inna mi class liked it and had it on a CD player. Now mi deh a dis country and i dont get it. To me these guys just put 2 words together and dats it. to me de music makes no sense.
discuss....
well mi juss figguh daht is ole mi ole cah mi cyan listen to di rap/hip-hop again. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] back in di day, rap use tuh tell a story, but dem ya days all mi can hear is "shake that" "back that" "bling" blah blah blah [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img] a pure nonsense dem do dees days... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
there' something beautiful and soulful in reggae(not the sexual or violent dancehall though) that's missing in hip-hop. I can't explain it. R&b is very nice though. Hip hop I can't listen to for too long.
discuss....
if not for Jamaica there would be no such thing as hip hop- by that I mean not just the music but the lifestyle. I think it is important to recognize the roots to gain an understanding of the genre. Also, it is a big genre that produces a lot of different vibes.
publicly consumed hip hop is akin to publicly consumed music anywhere and cross genre- much of it is meaningless ie) right thurr or Rapper's Delight, Scoobie Doo or Row Like a Boat or even the Electric Slide. Things like scoobie doo have the advantage of just being some method to deliver a dance and entertainment and are not meant to be anything more, and I think you can argue they're worth stops there.
But that is seldom considered the "real" stuff. The real stuff is always deeper and held more dear by those who know.
I think it would be hard to argue that, Rakim, or Public Enemy, or Common, or the RZA, or the Roots, or a host of other artists are not producing/produced a body of work that has importance and resonance.
at um err ~ almost 53 - i love my hip hop and rap - i get the lyrics - i get the presentation ~ and i'd rather listen to it than some other things
plus with a 10 year old - i'm not going to go [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] to the music of his generation that talks about the trials and tribulations of today's yout
yes i like R&B, jazz, reggae and most music - and i have my mind open to enjoying and trying to understand the hiphop/rap movement
i even buy the stuff for myself
so no hiphop - do you like classical [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
there' something beautiful and soulful in reggae(not the sexual or violent dancehall though) that's missing in hip-hop. I can't explain it. R&b is very nice though. Hip hop I can't listen to for too long.
[/ QUOTE ] <font color="blue">Believe me, there's something beautiful and soulful in hip-hop, too. Hip-hop is a culture, of which rap music is just one part, although the most commercialized part. As monk said, commercialized, crossover rap is for mass consumption, and as is the case with most anything produced for mass consumption, 95% of it sucks.
There was a time in hip-hop when it had a purpose, it told a story, whether through rap music or dancing or graffiti. The story might have been entertaining, thought provoking, or inspiring but it was creative expression that can be compared to any "legitimate" art form.
However, as with many other cultural forms of expression that originated with Black people, it got popular and became a moneymaker. It has been corrupted and is now a mockery of its former self. The current state of hip-hip and rap music makes me both angry and sad, and I mourn what it was and is supposed to be. Even though there are artists that still have the seed of what it was and could be, they are drowned out by the idiocy that gets pumped over the airwaves and I wonder if they will be able to stand or if they will get swept by the tide. </font>
[/ QUOTE ] <font color="blue">Believe me, there's something beautiful and soulful in hip-hop, too. Hip-hop is a culture, of which rap music is just one part, although the most commercialized part. As monk said, commercialized, crossover rap is for mass consumption, and as is the case with most anything produced for mass consumption, 95% of it sucks.
There was a time in hip-hop when it had a purpose, it told a story, whether through rap music or dancing or graffiti. The story might have been entertaining, thought provoking, or inspiring but it was creative expression that can be compared to any "legitimate" art form.
However, as with many other cultural forms of expression that originated with Black people, it got popular and became a moneymaker. It has been corrupted and is now a mockery of its former self. The current state of hip-hip and rap music makes me both angry and sad, and I mourn what it was and is supposed to be. Even though there are artists that still have the seed of what it was and could be, they are drowned out by the idiocy that gets pumped over the airwaves and I wonder if they will be able to stand or if they will get swept by the tide. </font>
I love lauryn hill and other artists, I guess it's just the rap that's being promoted like you said. Black people aren't doing the right thing in controlling our musics. For example Rihanna is winning R&B awards when she's not r&b and other similar things going on. Black radio as well is just following the money and mainstream.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.