'hip-hop is dead'
hip-hop headz; anyone checked out nas' new album yet?
Re: hip-hop headz; anyone checked out nas' new album yet?
listened to some of it over the weekend. it didn't really grab my attention... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] & i'm a nas fan;
maybe marriage sapped some of his rawness [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70390-shhh.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: justblue</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> [color:"blue"]I haven't. I don't think I have any Nas albums, I've liked some songs but not enough to get an album.
Okay, I'll check it out now and see. [/color] </div></div>
justblue, run out as soon as you can and pick up illmatic. one of the all-time best hiphop albums in my opinion. read an article that went as far as to say it is the best hiphop album of all time.
i don't have the new album yet, but it should be on its way from amazon to me right now. i like the first single - haven't heard anything else from it yet, but i'm gambling that it will be better in content than jay-z's rather lackluster album...and i'm a jay-z fanatic!
<span style="color: #000099"> <span style='font-family: Arial'>monk, which track are you referring to? I listened to most of the tracks, none of them grabbed my attention immediately except for one that was a little weird, the Sam Spade scenario.
Soul Hunter, I have fond memories of "It Ain't Hard To Tell" but I guess I should listen to the whole album. You said you're a Jay-Z fanatic, so I don't know if I can trust your judgement. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </span> </span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: justblue</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="color: #000099"> <span style='font-family: Arial'>Soul Hunter, I have fond memories of "It Ain't Hard To Tell" but I guess I should listen to the whole album. You said you're a Jay-Z fanatic, so I don't know if I can trust your judgement. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </span> </span> </div></div>
but see ya! an all a hail up bk inna u post! seriously though - i'll put it this way - the nas album is far better than some of the crap, hell most of the crap getting airplay right now. in a world where jock/jeezy/whatever dem a call themselves a sell the most record, the nas album more than anything takes me back to a period when at least for me, hip hop was about nice beats and clever word play. mi a talk from 'bout '96 through all '99. of course none a dem tune ya can whole a candle to illmatic and reasonable doubt, and dem definitely can't touch the old school tune dem from all black sheep, lords of the underground, etc. seriously though, cop the mos def album if you get a chance.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Soul Hunter</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: justblue</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="color: #000099"> <span style='font-family: Arial'>Soul Hunter, I have fond memories of "It Ain't Hard To Tell" but I guess I should listen to the whole album. You said you're a Jay-Z fanatic, so I don't know if I can trust your judgement. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </span> </span> </div></div>
but see ya! an all a hail up bk inna u post! seriously though - i'll put it this way - the nas album is far better than some of the crap, hell most of the crap getting airplay right now. in a world where jock/jeezy/whatever dem a call themselves a sell the most record, the nas album more than anything takes me back to a period when at least for me, hip hop was about nice beats and clever word play. mi a talk from 'bout '96 through all '99. of course none a dem tune ya can whole a candle to illmatic and reasonable doubt, and dem definitely can't touch the old school tune dem from all black sheep, lords of the underground, etc. seriously though, cop the mos def album if you get a chance. </div></div> <span style="color: #000099"> <span style='font-family: Arial'>See, your first problem is that you're comparing anything at all to the drivel and nonsense that gets airplay right now. Most of it can just barely be considered rap.
Your next problem is that you speak of nice beats and clever wordplay, but you only go as far back as '96. By that time, hip-hop was already diseased and beginning its downward spiral.
Your third problem is that you call Black Sheep and Lords of the Underground "old school". [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img] Gotta go back at least a decade, and even before that. I grew up on hip-hop, before I even knew what it was I have memories of the Sugar Hill Gang and Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five.
I'd heard there was a new Mos Def album. I dig Mos Def, but have never really heard his stuff. I can think of one or two songs and I like them both. *sigh* I guess I should go looking...
Totally off-topic: How's Amiri? I hope he's feeling better, he's back home now, right? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70459-hugs.gif[/img] for him and your whole family. </span> </span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kingston20</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
The best Nas album and the only one I bought...this new one is making me rethink my no paying for music mantra. Come on man ether is a classic.... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/notworthy.gif[/img] </div></div> <span style="color: #000099"> <span style='font-family: Arial'>I liked Ether, it was fire in that whole battle, I think it silenced everything. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </span> </span>