Re: Fruit of Lemon by Andrea Levy...juss pick it up
"If I can just go on to the report we have for your from your present employment as a wardrobe assistant," Mr Williams said. Les Girls started to cough into his hand and look out of the window. I sat up in my seat. "The report is on the whole very good. It says you are a good worker and have excellent timekeeping - well done-. That you have picked up the job very well. And blah, blah, blah. But it also says here," he went on, "that you are rather slow."
I jumped . I know I jumped because I banged my elbow down hard on the arm of the chair and it caught my funny bone and the pain was stinging through me aas i said, "slow".
"yes, slow. When you walk"
she applying for a position in television that has never seen a black in the position an dis is wat dem find fault wid...so afta she cawl dem pon di fact that a black neva had the position , dem twist in dem chair...dem gi har di job in dat she get di position etc, but kept waiting fi di right time fi use har
I don't why i thought this book was new...so it was written before Small Island
in any case mi waiting by di mailbox [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img]
is a case dat har books getting attention dis side of di Atlantic so dem a publish dem..is like di man weh do di lady detective one in Botswana...di shelf full a all di book dem him eva write...
brick-[censored]-house
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Mi cyaan figure out a wah di board censor outta dat deh phrase? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
mi a goh start the lemon book tomorrow [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
but wait deh mi still noh finish the randall robinson book and mi did waan re-read things fall apart
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.