me cyaan believe Rihanna seh dis..when did drugs become the "norm" fe de caribbean? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img]
BP: Have you been tempted by fame as far as drugs- because you used Whitney as an example. Meaning, have you seen those things around you and for a young person in the industry, how do you deal with that?
Rihanna: Well, I've seen those things all the time coming from the Caribbean that kind of stuff is around me in terms of drugs. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70456-eyebrows.gif[/img]I have never been tempted to it, my dad used to use drugs, but it's something I'm not excited about. Drugs don't excite me - there is so much more to life than doing drugs and alcohol.
BP: Caribbean music has received a lot of controversy recently about homophobic and misogynist lyrics. I know you're not a political artist, but you are from the Caribbean and you're a woman - what do you think about some of the lyrics from your male counterparts?
Rihanna: Well, you know, personally for me I don't judge people on what they do behind closed doors. That aspect of their life has nothing to do with me. I can love you or hate you whether you are straight or homosexual, it all depends on the type of person you are and not whether you are gay, or not - it doesn't matter to me. I have gay friends
BP: What about misogynist lyrics? Do you think it is a problem that a lot of reggae artists talk about women in a derogatory light, or are people just taking it too seriously?
Rihanna:: I honestly think they are taking it too seriously because music is music and women artists trash men too [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]. I don't see it being a problem - it goes both ways. It's just music, it's just a song.
BP: Have you been tempted by fame as far as drugs- because you used Whitney as an example. Meaning, have you seen those things around you and for a young person in the industry, how do you deal with that?
Rihanna: Well, I've seen those things all the time coming from the Caribbean that kind of stuff is around me in terms of drugs. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70456-eyebrows.gif[/img]I have never been tempted to it, my dad used to use drugs, but it's something I'm not excited about. Drugs don't excite me - there is so much more to life than doing drugs and alcohol.
BP: Caribbean music has received a lot of controversy recently about homophobic and misogynist lyrics. I know you're not a political artist, but you are from the Caribbean and you're a woman - what do you think about some of the lyrics from your male counterparts?
Rihanna: Well, you know, personally for me I don't judge people on what they do behind closed doors. That aspect of their life has nothing to do with me. I can love you or hate you whether you are straight or homosexual, it all depends on the type of person you are and not whether you are gay, or not - it doesn't matter to me. I have gay friends
BP: What about misogynist lyrics? Do you think it is a problem that a lot of reggae artists talk about women in a derogatory light, or are people just taking it too seriously?
Rihanna:: I honestly think they are taking it too seriously because music is music and women artists trash men too [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]. I don't see it being a problem - it goes both ways. It's just music, it's just a song.