Fledg sent me this know my love of Kapuchinski.. Enjoy.. It is long but like drinking fine wine...
For you MG
Re: For you MG
I was ten years old, and I cried half the tears of a lifetime then, because in fact no one ever wanted to buy the little soaps.
It was December, 1956. People were still coming out of the gulags.
The more bitter the cold of the Polish winter, the more readily I thought of hot Kerala; the quicker darkness fell, the more vividly images of Kashmir’s dazzling sunrises resurfaced. The world was no longer uniformly cold and snowy but had multiplied, become variegated: it was simultaneously cold and hot, snowy white but also green and blooming.
Re: For you MG
Thank you, Wahalla. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70459-hugs.gif[/img] and please convey my thanks and regards to Fledgist, too.
The article (I read it all) reminds me of the main thing I love Kapuczinksi (although i have a hard time spelling his name): the sense of immediacy from what he writes. He puts himself and the reader right in the moment, and is very skilful at weaving in the history and sociology without making that overtake the immediate experience.
I like that he wrote this article while giving such a strong sense of his old naivete - it is this innocence, lack of experience that I identify with as a reader, and which makes his descriptions seem so vivid.
Mi really sorry mi neva get fi seem inna real life. And you know, I think Poles have nuff in common with Jamaicans... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]