I raised this topic (asked these questions) on a local Caribbean station:
Many reggae artists (especially the dancehall crowd) love to embrace the latest. If it's singing about "Jah," "Gad" or "Jesus" that gets them listeners and/or money then that is what they sing about. If it is about shooting [censored] that is the hot subject, then that is what they sing about. If it is about gyal and [censored] [censored], then that is what they sing about, however, I noticed as of late many are singing about putting down guns and stopping the violence. If, as has been pointed out in the past, DJs contribute(d) to the increase in violence due to "gun lyrics," why is it that the new trend of anti-gun lyrics not making a dent in violence, notably in Jamaica? And with the first part of my question, I am certainly NOT desiring a return to gun lyrics in every song. Are there known examples and/or evidence that their influence is stemming the tide?
I don't really listen for rap, but are many of their artists still embracing that "gangsta, I'm from the ghetto and I hate everybody" [censored] or are there some amongst their ranks really trying to get an anti-violence message out there to their young listeners?
Many reggae artists (especially the dancehall crowd) love to embrace the latest. If it's singing about "Jah," "Gad" or "Jesus" that gets them listeners and/or money then that is what they sing about. If it is about shooting [censored] that is the hot subject, then that is what they sing about. If it is about gyal and [censored] [censored], then that is what they sing about, however, I noticed as of late many are singing about putting down guns and stopping the violence. If, as has been pointed out in the past, DJs contribute(d) to the increase in violence due to "gun lyrics," why is it that the new trend of anti-gun lyrics not making a dent in violence, notably in Jamaica? And with the first part of my question, I am certainly NOT desiring a return to gun lyrics in every song. Are there known examples and/or evidence that their influence is stemming the tide?
I don't really listen for rap, but are many of their artists still embracing that "gangsta, I'm from the ghetto and I hate everybody" [censored] or are there some amongst their ranks really trying to get an anti-violence message out there to their young listeners?