Yes Tropi there exists any kind of reggae you can think of. Yes the influence of Jamaica and (gasp) Rastafari have been outer-national... Mek yuh nuh post in the other forums sometime instead ah just load up GD wid everything
You know I am a sucker for ANYTHING by Johnnie Clarke and by King Tubby and The Aggravators. None Shall Escape the Judgement was the first Johnnie Clarke song I heard and I LOVED it. Still do.
When my cousin would visit and bring the 45s with Bunny "Striker" Lee on one side and King Tubby and The Aggravators on the B (version) side it went right over my head. I didn't have a clue what it was all about <span style="font-weight: bold">but</span> I loved the music. We still have these 45s at my Mom's house. Next time I visit I should get them out of storage and bring them back.
I posted this version before but I loved it so much mi going lick i' back. In the meantime... 'old dis:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">You know I am a sucker for ANYTHING by Johnnie Clarke and by King Tubby and The Aggravators. </div></div>
His first big hit was...
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/4vsFGyOMIWE"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/4vsFGyOMIWE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">You're a mod...why don't you move it to music videos.</div></div>
so it really has been years since you stopped into the music forum...i haven't been a mod since forever...and they combined it with books and dem ting deh...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Reminds me of this one that sounds like a version of one of my all time favourite riddims, The belly dancing doesn't hurt either:
I never notice who the mods are unless I have to blow the whistle and with my<span style="font-weight: bold"> huge</span> ignore list, that has rarely been needed in recent years. Sorry about that.
Okay I thought None Shall Escape the Judgement Came out First. Only reason is that I heard it long before I heard Move Out of Babylon. I LOVE Rock with me Baby.
Still wondering what I thought the Bunny "Striker" Lee and King Tubby and the Aggravators was business was all about. I guess it didn't register with me at the time.
I think I should start a Johnnie Clarke thread....again
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
it is by i believe an american or british guy...joshua redmon or somthing so </div></div>
Jonathon Richman, British, went to jail for molesting young boys.
When he wasn't doing that he was molesting Reggae music.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.