Anybody read it yet? I didn't even know he was from The Bahamas [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70374-lipsrsealed.gif[/img]
Poitier's - The Making of a Man
Re: Poitier's - The Making of a Man
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_4Muna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Anybody read it yet? I didn't even know he was from The Bahamas [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70374-lipsrsealed.gif[/img] </div></div>
Born to Haitian parents.
Mi nuh truss Oprah eno - aright hear de setup. More time she seh "Hallelujer" pan ar show, and how God dis and God dat. Good and well. When Mr Poitier was on de show she a come talk bout how, "she tankful for de ""force"" dat had her watch tv homuchy years ago to see Mr. Poitier. Mi is leff wonderin wah kyna force she a talk boh???????
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_4Muna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi nuh truss Oprah eno - aright hear de setup. More time she seh "Hallelujer" pan ar show, and how God dis and God dat. Good and well. When Mr Poitier was on de show she a come talk bout how, "she tankful for de ""force"" dat had her watch tv homuchy years ago to see Mr. Poitier. Mi is leff wonderin wah kyna force she a talk boh??????? </div></div>
So what is the difference between the use of the word "God" and the "force"?
Does it make her any less godly?
What you think God is?
A super human,or some super animal?
If you really believe that God is everpresent,omnipotent,omnicient and the basis of all there is? That is if you belive this ? Why could'nt "the force" be an appropriate desription to use in that context?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: gullygirl</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Isn't it "The Measure Of A Man"?.. I read it a few years ago..
I enjoyed it.. </div></div>
oops - ur right heheh. Thanks for the correction
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_4Muna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi nuh truss Oprah eno - aright hear de setup. More time she seh "Hallelujer" pan ar show, and how God dis and God dat. Good and well. When Mr Poitier was on de show she a come talk bout how, "she tankful for de ""force"" dat had her watch tv homuchy years ago to see Mr. Poitier. Mi is leff wonderin wah kyna force she a talk boh??????? </div></div>
So what is the difference between the use of the word "God" and the "force"?
Does it make her any less godly?
What you think God is?
A super human,or some super animal?
If you really believe that God is everpresent,omnipotent,omnicient and the basis of all there is? That is if you belive this ? Why could'nt "the force" be an appropriate desription to use in that context? </div></div>
Well, all I can say is I have never reffered to Him as a force. There are people who simply believe that there is a superhuman, superforce 'somewhere' out/up there and do not acknowledge God as God. That's why mi question Oprah's use of words. I'm start something in Faith and Reason suh check it out when u get a chance.
this is his second 'biography...di fuss one was written before Oprah's ascendency an ability to guarantee a bess sella....dat one told about his sexual prowess wid chickens as a bwoy [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
so stately in his famous years albeit his embarrassing his black wife of his poorer state by having a bess kept secrit affair wid an actress as his career took off an den upgrading to di white wife once it was cemented
bravo