<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">In autumn 2006 Ras Myrhdak’s tune ‘Blazer’ dominated the Jamaican charts for several weeks. Although Ras is already well known in Jamaica, even toured the US and was mentored by Capleton there has still been no full album yet.
To change that, him and Brotherman decided to work with each other so that we can now proudly announce the release of Ras Myrhdak’s first album!
Stephon Moulton more popularly known as Ras Myrhdak was born on March 3, 1977. He grew up in the Linton Park in Brown's Town, St. Ann; a parish known for Reggae greats like Bob Marley, Burning Spear and Barrington Levy. Myrhdak's interest in music started at the tender age of eight when he began singing bass in his mother's choir at the local Church of God. As he grew older his love for music was even greater than before and while attending Brown's Town Comprehensive High School, he started to establish himself as a singjay.
In 1997 Ras Myrhdak moved to Kingston and linked with producer Phillip Thomas a.k.a Cutty Ranks to produce the singles, 'Hot Bwoy' and 'Gal a Say Myrhdak' on the Shark label distributed by Greensleeves Company. With the successes of these singles he later linked up with Annetta Brewster-Aitken, his manager. During that time, he worked with well-known producers such as King Jammys, Bobby Digital, Kings of Kings and Gemtar Production. Among his many releases are songs such as 'Camille' and 'All I Do', but he failed to generate that first big hit.
so I saw an interview with him and he said summen I found pretty disturbing..him sey his new album was geared to appeal to a "European" audience [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek2.gif[/img] den im went on to explain that it was a..cultural.eddifying...etc, etc album....in contrast his big hit of last year Blazer was a dancehall song appealing to a younger audience..
I was a little taken a back cause cultural, roots music is pretty popular in JA...so me cyaan undastand why im was going on about Europe...like Jamaican people don't lissen to cultural music
a wanda if the breddren realise how what im sey sound? or is he just telling it like it is? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] I
anyway me check out de album..its aight..doesn't do much fe me.. tink its a bit too contrived for my taste :shrug: that Blazer song was mad annoying, too
yu can check it out here..what do yawl tink [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bubble.gif[/img]
To change that, him and Brotherman decided to work with each other so that we can now proudly announce the release of Ras Myrhdak’s first album!
Stephon Moulton more popularly known as Ras Myrhdak was born on March 3, 1977. He grew up in the Linton Park in Brown's Town, St. Ann; a parish known for Reggae greats like Bob Marley, Burning Spear and Barrington Levy. Myrhdak's interest in music started at the tender age of eight when he began singing bass in his mother's choir at the local Church of God. As he grew older his love for music was even greater than before and while attending Brown's Town Comprehensive High School, he started to establish himself as a singjay.
In 1997 Ras Myrhdak moved to Kingston and linked with producer Phillip Thomas a.k.a Cutty Ranks to produce the singles, 'Hot Bwoy' and 'Gal a Say Myrhdak' on the Shark label distributed by Greensleeves Company. With the successes of these singles he later linked up with Annetta Brewster-Aitken, his manager. During that time, he worked with well-known producers such as King Jammys, Bobby Digital, Kings of Kings and Gemtar Production. Among his many releases are songs such as 'Camille' and 'All I Do', but he failed to generate that first big hit.
so I saw an interview with him and he said summen I found pretty disturbing..him sey his new album was geared to appeal to a "European" audience [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek2.gif[/img] den im went on to explain that it was a..cultural.eddifying...etc, etc album....in contrast his big hit of last year Blazer was a dancehall song appealing to a younger audience..
I was a little taken a back cause cultural, roots music is pretty popular in JA...so me cyaan undastand why im was going on about Europe...like Jamaican people don't lissen to cultural music
a wanda if the breddren realise how what im sey sound? or is he just telling it like it is? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] I
anyway me check out de album..its aight..doesn't do much fe me.. tink its a bit too contrived for my taste :shrug: that Blazer song was mad annoying, too
yu can check it out here..what do yawl tink [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bubble.gif[/img]