[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/notworthy.gif[/img]
it could've bin a duppy or a gunman..I man neva fine out yet..im could'nt falla..im could'nt falla me [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
hope some of you old school "afficiandos" .will chime in on dis..I really don't know that much about im..me just a lawn
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> ERNIE SMITH . . . . THE MAN AND HIS MUSIC
Ernie Smith's professional musical career began with his first recording in
1967, an original composition - "I Can't Take It", later recorded by Johnny
Nash as "Tears On My Pillow." Hits followed in quick succession,
including "Bend Down," "Ride On Sammy," "One Dream," and "Pitta Patta."
Duppy Gunman"
In 1972 at the World Popular Song Festival of the Yamaha Foundation in
Tokyo, he won the grand prize competing with songwriters like Neil Sedaka,
and Michael Legrand, with his original composition of "Life is Just for
Living."
Ernie became the first Jamaican musician to win an International award. For
this historic achievement, he became the first musician in the field of
Popular Music to be honoured by the Jamaican Government.
In 1976, Ernie was forced into exile in North America because of his
controversial political commentary in the song, "The Power and the Glory".
Ironically, the once-banned song is still relevant and even more popular.
Today, twenty-six years after its release it is the battle song for all the
talk shows and community activists.
In the first 3 of the 13 years in exile from his homeland, he thrilled
audiences In Canada, where he resided for 3 years, and was a pioneer in
bringing Reggae to the mainstream. Critics hailed his album "To Behold
Jah" (1979) as "one of the most important albums to come out of Canada for
[the] year [1979]."
Ernie has written well over 200 songs, some of which have been recorded by
other artistes, including Rita Marley, Chakka Demus and Pliers, Twiggy, Ken
Lazarus, John Jones, Eddie Lovette, Yellow Man Johnny Nash, among others.
it could've bin a duppy or a gunman..I man neva fine out yet..im could'nt falla..im could'nt falla me [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
hope some of you old school "afficiandos" .will chime in on dis..I really don't know that much about im..me just a lawn
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> ERNIE SMITH . . . . THE MAN AND HIS MUSIC
Ernie Smith's professional musical career began with his first recording in
1967, an original composition - "I Can't Take It", later recorded by Johnny
Nash as "Tears On My Pillow." Hits followed in quick succession,
including "Bend Down," "Ride On Sammy," "One Dream," and "Pitta Patta."
Duppy Gunman"
In 1972 at the World Popular Song Festival of the Yamaha Foundation in
Tokyo, he won the grand prize competing with songwriters like Neil Sedaka,
and Michael Legrand, with his original composition of "Life is Just for
Living."
Ernie became the first Jamaican musician to win an International award. For
this historic achievement, he became the first musician in the field of
Popular Music to be honoured by the Jamaican Government.
In 1976, Ernie was forced into exile in North America because of his
controversial political commentary in the song, "The Power and the Glory".
Ironically, the once-banned song is still relevant and even more popular.
Today, twenty-six years after its release it is the battle song for all the
talk shows and community activists.
In the first 3 of the 13 years in exile from his homeland, he thrilled
audiences In Canada, where he resided for 3 years, and was a pioneer in
bringing Reggae to the mainstream. Critics hailed his album "To Behold
Jah" (1979) as "one of the most important albums to come out of Canada for
[the] year [1979]."
Ernie has written well over 200 songs, some of which have been recorded by
other artistes, including Rita Marley, Chakka Demus and Pliers, Twiggy, Ken
Lazarus, John Jones, Eddie Lovette, Yellow Man Johnny Nash, among others.