My interview with Andy Vernon is featured on the front page of this site this month. Seeit deh:
Interview with Andy Vernon, Jamaican Reggae Musician
Re: Interview with Andy Vernon, Jamaican Reggae Musician
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My interview with Andy Vernon is featured on the front page of this site this month. Seeit deh:
The feature song on his Cd sould like it has the potential to be a hit.
Probably with some fade/filtering on the vocals,to tone it down it a bit.
I would buy it as is anyway,but one disc does not make hit.
We're missing a few paragraphs from the interview. Here they are to give you a feel for and a flavour of the entire interview. Hold on, lickle more, the x-man will add them. (Bwoy look like seh chatting wid Andy did improve mi patois).:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Tropicana: Which other Jamaican reggae musicians are working on your CD?
Andy: Tony Rebel on two tracks, “Searching” and “Can’t Stop us Now”, Prezident Brown on “Never Never”, Goofy and Taddy P who play keyboards and bass with Maxi Priest and Tanya Stephens, Saxy who plays with Cham, Gussi who plays guitars with Beres, Tony Ruption who plays drums with Third World, Jason (JVibe) who plays keyboards with Kymani Marley, Barry O’Hare plays keys and engineered most tracks (many times nominated and won the Grammy for a Burning Spear production some years ago), my daughter Rée, who sang backup on most tracks, along with Tammy T, Passion and Obrien singing sweet harmonies (all names to watch and listen for), Ferly on sax, Debussey, Goofy, JVibe, and Barry doing the engineering in studio as well. Big Up to ALL!!!
Tropicana: Man what a line up. I’ve listened to some of the tracks on your MySpace. “Can’t Stop Us Now” is my favourite. Is that you toasting?
Andy: Tony Rebel adding his distinctive brand and blessing. “To the World”!!!
Tropicana: I also love the feel of “Irie and Mellow”. Who mixes your music?
Andy Jason (JVibe) Farmer mixed that one…I singjayed that one…
Tropicana: Well l like the sound. Clearly from the lyrics “Pray for Justice” and the images that you selected show that you are a conscious brother. Some may find this surprising given your background and the fact that you play polo. To what do you attribute your consciousness?
Andy: Looking at life in general and seeing so many atrocities in the faces of everyday people, some new stuff, others, like racism has been there from day one. Mi cyaan keep quiet, mi haffi sing, shout, chant, anything to get the message of love and light across to all Jah Children. At the end of the day if my musical message wakes up even one leader and helps to bring about some form of peace then I have accomplished my mission…that is my inspiration.
All changes have been made and photos have beeen added, enjoy:
Yes, Tropsi. I read the interview yesterday and was going to PM you. Well done, mi sistren. I enjoyed it very much despite my lack of any previous knowledge or interest in polo. Big up yourself. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
If you missed it, don't worry, I missed it too but you can catch it in the archives:
Scroll down to Positive Journey (dahjah's show) and click on Part 2. About 2:15 minutes into it, back to back, you'll hear a couple of Andy's songs from his soon to be released CD "Chronicles of a CultureMan". In one of then, Tony Rebel sings with him. Enjoy.
Great to hear.
The link to the article on here has changed to: