Re: Finding an agent, getting a book published, what do u know
naw man..wen dem sign an get dem fuss cheque seeing dat dem already ha di book finished, dat is wat mi want mi percentage from...if mi fi wait pon royalties mi wi still a wait like how mi still a wait pon some singas
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Mrs. MarieK</div><div class="ubbcode-body">about the process.
The person is seeking an agent catering to writers in the same genre as E. Jerome Dickey, Terry McMillain and the likes.
Any info would be helpful. </div></div>You can submit an unsolicited manuscript to a publishing house, probably the ones that cater to that niche market. just make sure it is copywrited
The person is seeking an agent catering to writers in the same genre as E. Jerome Dickey, Terry McMillain and the likes.
Any info would be helpful. </div></div>You can submit an unsolicited manuscript to a publishing house, probably the ones that cater to that niche market. just make sure it is copywrited </div></div>
...go to any website for a publishing house and they have it posted dat dem no tek unsolicited manuscripts....wen dem reach dem get tossed into a pile...if u lucky, dere is an ambitious Admin, asst.editor etc working dere who will pick tru di pile trying to mek dem career.....said ting in the music bizniz....the interns etc r the ones who lissen to unsolicited demos which is why di music chosen is sooo young an giddy...
The following is from Dafina books who publishes Mary B Morrison. Her books are similar to E Jerome Dickey and E Lynn Harris.
Guidelines for Writers
Submission Guidelines
For fiction, send cover letter, first three chapters, and synopsis (no more than five pages). Note that we do not publish science fiction or fantasy.
We do not publish poetry.
For non-fiction, send cover letter/query, including the author’s qualifications and connections relevant to the book’s content and marketing, and summary or outline of book’s content.
All submissions should be double-spaced, paginated, cleanly printed and readable. Do not bind pages together.
If you need material returned, you must enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope large enough to hold the submission. If we may recycle your pages, you can receive a response by enclosing a letter-size, stamped, self-addressed envelope. MATERIAL WITHOUT RETURN POSTAGE WILL BE DISCARDED.
You may QUERY ONLY by e-mail. Do not attach manuscripts or proposals to e-mail queries. An editor will respond if he or she is interested in seeing your material based on your query.
SUBMIT TO ONE EDITOR ONLY. From the list of editors and their areas of interest, determine which editor would be best suited to or most interested in the type of book you are proposing. Address the submission to that editor’s attention.
ALLOW AT LEAST THREE MONTHS FOR RESPONSE. PLEASE DO NOT CALL THE KENSINGTON OFFICES.
Editorial Staff
John Scognamiglio, Editor-in-Chief of Kensington, Fiction (chick-lit, historical romance, women’s contemporary fiction, gay fiction and non-fiction, mysteries, suspense, horror, mainstream fiction, memoirs, erotica). [email protected]
Michaela Hamilton, Editor-in-Chief of Citadel, Executive Editor of Kensington (nonfiction including popular culture, current events, narrative nonfiction, true crime, business, biography, law enforcement, military; selected fiction including thrillers, mainstream novels). [email protected]
Selena James, Executive Editor, Dafina (general fiction and nonfiction, including African-American fiction, pop culture, inspirational, young adult, and romance). [email protected]
Gary Goldstein, Senior Editor (true crime, current events, humor, pop culture, Judaica, thrillers, military fiction and nonfiction, sports, how-to, science, world and American history, narrative nonfiction).
Danielle Chiotti, Senior Editor (Women’s interest nonfiction and fiction. For nonfiction: Dating and relationships, pop culture, humor, women’s issues, careers, memoirs, narrative nonfiction, biography, weddings, general self help, cooking. For fiction: Contemporary women’s fiction, romance, young adult fiction for girls.) [email protected]
Rakia A. Clark, Editor, Dafina (literary and contemporary multicultural fiction, especially African American; nonfiction interest, including memoir, history, pop culture, and entertainment). [email protected]
How do I find an agent?
If you would like your work considered for a major publisher, we recommend that you work with an established literary agent. Agents can be found in such literary guides as Literary Marketplace, or The Writer's Market, which you should be able to find in your local bookstore or library. You can also visit http://www.writersdigest.com. for more information.
mea culpa...i have yet to read a book by Tyree and when u seh publishing house i immediately think of the established ones.... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/blush.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mea culpa...i have yet to read a book by Tyree and when u seh publishing house i immediately think of the established ones.... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/blush.gif[/img] </div></div>Yes Evan the bigger ones like random house etc look like they only want the established writers with a proven following. But Dafina/Kensington is a good starter house. no great works of fiction here but I have a few of their books that I would consider "a good read"
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.