Ah Wah Gwan?
I just published "How To Raise Your Child Like A Jamaican (Life lessons my parents taught me)" and I've been getting a really great response. The Gleaner both US & JA positively reviewed it and Devon 'Cool Runnings' Harris provides the foreword.
In 'How To Raise Your Child Like A Jamaican' I discuss all the things that my parents taught me as a child that I still continue to do to this day. Like in the chapter 'Me Come Fi Drink Milk, Me No Come Fi Count Cow' I talk about the importance of making sure your child keeps their word and are not just 'A Bag of Mouth' because it helps build character.
'How To Raise Your Child Like A Jamaican' is a really funny, warm and lighthearted look at what's so great about Jamaica because it talks about her people, her history and her culture in a way that is unique to readers.
You can review pages from the book on my website.
I would love feedback and for those of you who have questions re: childrearing I can surely tell you what my Jamaican parents did that worked.
Walk good nuh mon!!!
Dahlia D. Welsh
I just published "How To Raise Your Child Like A Jamaican (Life lessons my parents taught me)" and I've been getting a really great response. The Gleaner both US & JA positively reviewed it and Devon 'Cool Runnings' Harris provides the foreword.
In 'How To Raise Your Child Like A Jamaican' I discuss all the things that my parents taught me as a child that I still continue to do to this day. Like in the chapter 'Me Come Fi Drink Milk, Me No Come Fi Count Cow' I talk about the importance of making sure your child keeps their word and are not just 'A Bag of Mouth' because it helps build character.
'How To Raise Your Child Like A Jamaican' is a really funny, warm and lighthearted look at what's so great about Jamaica because it talks about her people, her history and her culture in a way that is unique to readers.
You can review pages from the book on my website.
I would love feedback and for those of you who have questions re: childrearing I can surely tell you what my Jamaican parents did that worked.
Walk good nuh mon!!!
Dahlia D. Welsh