It has not even been 24 hours since Macka Diamond launched her first ever book, 'Bun Him' at the Weekenz Bar and Bistro on Constant Spring Road on Monday evening and already, she is being flooded with text messages and phone calls.
Speaking with THE STAR on Tuesday, Macka says, "I woke up this morning to a number of text messages, some saying the book is wonderful, others a sey dem cyan get back the book from their wife and people have also been calling me and saying dem sen dem daughter to get the book and dem haffi end up get a copy for themselves because they can't get the book from them."
Even Macka might have to get another copy of 'Bun Him' for herself as she gave away her only copy.
"The one copy I had for myself, I had to give it to my father because he said he wanted to read it and it was his birth month, he sat there and read it until the book almost half, but mi haffi guh buy back one and support mi self," she said.
Macka, who is still on cloud nine, now that her book has been officially launched says, "It feels nice to finally get it out now and what was amazing about the launch was that we saw different faces, people from the dancehall and people who nuh normally party, faces from the other side of dancehall, like the doctors and lawyers, but they all came out to support me and get their copy of the book."
And according to Macka, it shows that her intentions for the book are being realised because, "We wanted to get across to every type of audience so that's why when I saw faces from the other side of dancehall who really came to support and say let me see what's in this book, it was really a great feeling."
Promoting 'Bun Him'
The promotions for her new book, Macka says, will continue this week as she says; "We're heading to UWI this Thursday between 2-6 p.m. and then Aquarius Records (in H.W.T) on Friday starting at 1 p.m. And on Saturday we will be at the Sangster's Book Stores in Spanish Town (1-3 p.m.) and Portmore (3-6 p.m.)."
Macka says her book should be one that persons can relate to and based on the reactions that the song received, she knows the book was the right move to make.
"The book was inspired by the song (Bun Him), because the song did cause suh much passa passa, so we wanted to put out like a magazine, but then we said a book would be better," Macka said.
"We made up characters that people could relate to, not somebody we really knew in person. People who read the book will know of some of these experiences or have a friend, so people can relate to stuff in it, " she added.
According to Macka, many artistes were not in support of the song, but many turned out on the night of her book launch to show their support.
"A lot of artistes sey dem nuh support di bun ting but (the book) is a new era in dancehall an dem a guh support it," she said.
Fans of Macka's music need not worry that her new venture will leave her music neglected as Macka reassures, "even if I go like to a small island to promote this book, it would be in the form of a stage show and if we decide to do the movie, it will involve most of our dancehall artiste, so I don't think my career will be neglected because of this book."
Macka has already started to look further down the road as she says, "Hopefully we will do follow ups and we're looking at doing the movie, because persons have been calling from L.A and all over who have said straight up, they are interested in doing the movie, right now the options are so crazy but I guess we'll make the right choice."
Speaking with THE STAR on Tuesday, Macka says, "I woke up this morning to a number of text messages, some saying the book is wonderful, others a sey dem cyan get back the book from their wife and people have also been calling me and saying dem sen dem daughter to get the book and dem haffi end up get a copy for themselves because they can't get the book from them."
Even Macka might have to get another copy of 'Bun Him' for herself as she gave away her only copy.
"The one copy I had for myself, I had to give it to my father because he said he wanted to read it and it was his birth month, he sat there and read it until the book almost half, but mi haffi guh buy back one and support mi self," she said.
Macka, who is still on cloud nine, now that her book has been officially launched says, "It feels nice to finally get it out now and what was amazing about the launch was that we saw different faces, people from the dancehall and people who nuh normally party, faces from the other side of dancehall, like the doctors and lawyers, but they all came out to support me and get their copy of the book."
And according to Macka, it shows that her intentions for the book are being realised because, "We wanted to get across to every type of audience so that's why when I saw faces from the other side of dancehall who really came to support and say let me see what's in this book, it was really a great feeling."
Promoting 'Bun Him'
The promotions for her new book, Macka says, will continue this week as she says; "We're heading to UWI this Thursday between 2-6 p.m. and then Aquarius Records (in H.W.T) on Friday starting at 1 p.m. And on Saturday we will be at the Sangster's Book Stores in Spanish Town (1-3 p.m.) and Portmore (3-6 p.m.)."
Macka says her book should be one that persons can relate to and based on the reactions that the song received, she knows the book was the right move to make.
"The book was inspired by the song (Bun Him), because the song did cause suh much passa passa, so we wanted to put out like a magazine, but then we said a book would be better," Macka said.
"We made up characters that people could relate to, not somebody we really knew in person. People who read the book will know of some of these experiences or have a friend, so people can relate to stuff in it, " she added.
According to Macka, many artistes were not in support of the song, but many turned out on the night of her book launch to show their support.
"A lot of artistes sey dem nuh support di bun ting but (the book) is a new era in dancehall an dem a guh support it," she said.
Fans of Macka's music need not worry that her new venture will leave her music neglected as Macka reassures, "even if I go like to a small island to promote this book, it would be in the form of a stage show and if we decide to do the movie, it will involve most of our dancehall artiste, so I don't think my career will be neglected because of this book."
Macka has already started to look further down the road as she says, "Hopefully we will do follow ups and we're looking at doing the movie, because persons have been calling from L.A and all over who have said straight up, they are interested in doing the movie, right now the options are so crazy but I guess we'll make the right choice."