<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> The smile that is Alaine
By Debra Edwards
Monday, April 23, 2007
You might remember Alaine playing a part in the Whoppi Goldberg movie Clara's Heart or even from the TV show Vibrations in the '90s. Both of which she modestly says "happened through me just hearing about the opportunities and auditioning". But lets be realistic, there must have been something about her then, that would allow her to beat out over 400 girls to garner the role in the major movie Clara's Heart!
Alaine
Describing herself, she states " first and foremost I am like a smile and I incorporate that into everything I do, because it makes a difference. If I am in a bad mood, I smile, it might not be my prettiest smile, but it makes me feel better. I am also a child of God, and I'm somebody that is in love with her life. I am passionate, jokified (comedic), silly and sometimes serious, but most of all I am grateful for everything I have".
Her love for music began at an early age, as she was a part of the Jamaica Folk Singers under the direction of Dr Olive Lewin and is classically trained in piano. After receiving a degree in Management and Psychology from UWI, the former St Andrew High alumnus migrated to New York and landed a job at investment house, JP Morgan. After being promoted twice and about to receive another, Alaine decided to resign and come back to Jamaica and sing.
Why?
"My life consisted of a balancing act, I was working for JP Morgan in the days and hitting the studios and writing at night. When I was about to get promoted on another occasion, I realised that my job would take up a lot more of my time, so I had to make the choice to follow my passion for music".
Does the money she makes now even compare to what she was making at JP Morgan?
"A big part of where I am now is about following my dreams as opposed to making money. The benefits and the joy I get from doing music far outweigh any monetary concerns. But music is a very lucrative business. When you are doing well and when people recognise you, good money can be made".
On return to Jamaica, things seemed to almost happen for her instantly. But Alaine was quick to point out, " I have always been a work in progress since being in Jamaica and graduating from UWI, so I was paying my dues, but when I got back I almost immediately began working with production group Dasaca on Chakka Chakka Love and Baby You, which both began getting heavy rotation, putting me out their quickly".
Born Alaine Lawton, the 28-year old has caught a lot of flack for, in many people's opinion, not being sexy enough. Does she think that sex sells and she needs to be sexier?
"Yes sex does sell, but I think that where I am is where I am supposed to be, the content of my songs can be played anywhere for anyone. I cannot focus on the negative and say, bwoy they don't appreciate me because of this or that, I focus on beautiful and quality things".
And as for her dance skills?
Can she wine?
For that, the witty Alaine shot back: " Do you mean I complain a lot." Jokes aside, she continued, "I am not the best nor do I pretend to be. I can wine. am I getting better at it, yes. I do my thing and enjoy myself".
In an industry dominated by men, as a female once you begin working with the opposite sex, it can sometimes automatically be assumed that there is more to the relationship than business.
Alaine has faced this.
With regards to the rumour that she has been involved with any of the members of Dasaca, Alaine states, "I think it's a part of the job for people to talk about you and the moment they stop is when you have stopped being interesting". And is manager/producer Don Corleon the main man in her life? "Don and I have a musical relationship, and people can say whatever they would like to say, mouth mek fi talk".
Sacrifice, her new single, is bubbling on the charts, Alaine says, "it is about true love that has stood the test of time, and about realising that you're going to have to meet each other half way, and that love takes sacrifice. It's a true love story".
Could this 'true love story' be about her and someone else? For that Alaine answers "probably".
As the writer of all her songs, how does she come up with the content? "All praise and glory be to God, because I believe anything that I have created is directly connected to Him.
My writing is based on real-life events, things that I have felt, things that my friends have experienced, and I try to be as much a part of my music as I can be, 'cause I think that is the only way I can come across as genuine. Big up to everyone who is doing it differently, but for me I think love is universal and people will always want to hear about it, so I will try to highlight it in all the different ways".
Where does Alaine think she is destined to be in life?
For that she simply says, "my dreams are without boundaries."
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lifestyle...T_IS_ALAINE.asp
Vids
Sacrifice
Rise in Love
no Ordinary Love
Har website..nicely done
Discography
Various Artists Reggae Gold 2007
Busy Signal Step Out (2006)
Various Artists Strictly The Best Vol. 35
Various Artist Biggest Ragga Dancehall Anthems 2006 (2006)
Various Artists Biggest Reggae One-Drop Anthems 2006 (2006)
Various Artists Dem Time Deh (2006)
Various Artists Dreaming (2007)
Various Artists Ice Cube (2005)
Various Artists Justice (2005)
Devotchka Live Fast, Die Young (2001)
Various Artists R.A.W. (2005)
Sly & Robbie Rhythm Doubles (2006)
Various Artists Smash (2006)
Various Artists Sweat (2006)
Sacrifice
By Debra Edwards
Monday, April 23, 2007
You might remember Alaine playing a part in the Whoppi Goldberg movie Clara's Heart or even from the TV show Vibrations in the '90s. Both of which she modestly says "happened through me just hearing about the opportunities and auditioning". But lets be realistic, there must have been something about her then, that would allow her to beat out over 400 girls to garner the role in the major movie Clara's Heart!
Alaine
Describing herself, she states " first and foremost I am like a smile and I incorporate that into everything I do, because it makes a difference. If I am in a bad mood, I smile, it might not be my prettiest smile, but it makes me feel better. I am also a child of God, and I'm somebody that is in love with her life. I am passionate, jokified (comedic), silly and sometimes serious, but most of all I am grateful for everything I have".
Her love for music began at an early age, as she was a part of the Jamaica Folk Singers under the direction of Dr Olive Lewin and is classically trained in piano. After receiving a degree in Management and Psychology from UWI, the former St Andrew High alumnus migrated to New York and landed a job at investment house, JP Morgan. After being promoted twice and about to receive another, Alaine decided to resign and come back to Jamaica and sing.
Why?
"My life consisted of a balancing act, I was working for JP Morgan in the days and hitting the studios and writing at night. When I was about to get promoted on another occasion, I realised that my job would take up a lot more of my time, so I had to make the choice to follow my passion for music".
Does the money she makes now even compare to what she was making at JP Morgan?
"A big part of where I am now is about following my dreams as opposed to making money. The benefits and the joy I get from doing music far outweigh any monetary concerns. But music is a very lucrative business. When you are doing well and when people recognise you, good money can be made".
On return to Jamaica, things seemed to almost happen for her instantly. But Alaine was quick to point out, " I have always been a work in progress since being in Jamaica and graduating from UWI, so I was paying my dues, but when I got back I almost immediately began working with production group Dasaca on Chakka Chakka Love and Baby You, which both began getting heavy rotation, putting me out their quickly".
Born Alaine Lawton, the 28-year old has caught a lot of flack for, in many people's opinion, not being sexy enough. Does she think that sex sells and she needs to be sexier?
"Yes sex does sell, but I think that where I am is where I am supposed to be, the content of my songs can be played anywhere for anyone. I cannot focus on the negative and say, bwoy they don't appreciate me because of this or that, I focus on beautiful and quality things".
And as for her dance skills?
Can she wine?
For that, the witty Alaine shot back: " Do you mean I complain a lot." Jokes aside, she continued, "I am not the best nor do I pretend to be. I can wine. am I getting better at it, yes. I do my thing and enjoy myself".
In an industry dominated by men, as a female once you begin working with the opposite sex, it can sometimes automatically be assumed that there is more to the relationship than business.
Alaine has faced this.
With regards to the rumour that she has been involved with any of the members of Dasaca, Alaine states, "I think it's a part of the job for people to talk about you and the moment they stop is when you have stopped being interesting". And is manager/producer Don Corleon the main man in her life? "Don and I have a musical relationship, and people can say whatever they would like to say, mouth mek fi talk".
Sacrifice, her new single, is bubbling on the charts, Alaine says, "it is about true love that has stood the test of time, and about realising that you're going to have to meet each other half way, and that love takes sacrifice. It's a true love story".
Could this 'true love story' be about her and someone else? For that Alaine answers "probably".
As the writer of all her songs, how does she come up with the content? "All praise and glory be to God, because I believe anything that I have created is directly connected to Him.
My writing is based on real-life events, things that I have felt, things that my friends have experienced, and I try to be as much a part of my music as I can be, 'cause I think that is the only way I can come across as genuine. Big up to everyone who is doing it differently, but for me I think love is universal and people will always want to hear about it, so I will try to highlight it in all the different ways".
Where does Alaine think she is destined to be in life?
For that she simply says, "my dreams are without boundaries."
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lifestyle...T_IS_ALAINE.asp
Vids
Sacrifice
Rise in Love
no Ordinary Love
Har website..nicely done
Discography
Various Artists Reggae Gold 2007
Busy Signal Step Out (2006)
Various Artists Strictly The Best Vol. 35
Various Artist Biggest Ragga Dancehall Anthems 2006 (2006)
Various Artists Biggest Reggae One-Drop Anthems 2006 (2006)
Various Artists Dem Time Deh (2006)
Various Artists Dreaming (2007)
Various Artists Ice Cube (2005)
Various Artists Justice (2005)
Devotchka Live Fast, Die Young (2001)
Various Artists R.A.W. (2005)
Sly & Robbie Rhythm Doubles (2006)
Various Artists Smash (2006)
Various Artists Sweat (2006)
Sacrifice