<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Ray Darwin taking listeners to another level with his songs
For 37-year-old singer Ray Darwin, there is nothing to music like meditating and seeing how he can write songs to take people to another level. Born in Buff Bay, Portland, he was influenced very early on in music by Horace Andy.
According to him, Horace was the first one to put a guitar in his hand and he also had the opportunity to sing with artistes such as Junior Tucker and Clancy Eccles.
Ray loved music so much that at the age of seven, he formed a band called Sound Vibration. Two years later, he migrated to the US. His love affair with music never dwindled. While attending Bronx Community College, he studied Voice and Theory and later gained a scholarship to pursue music at Lehman College. Shortly after, Ray formed a reggae band in New York called Interns of Dub opening for luminaries such as Jimmy Cliff, Toots and the Maytals, Wailers and the Blues Brothers.
Deciding he needed a change, Ray switched to rock 'n' roll music signing to the label Rock World Sony. Four years later, he gave it all up and went into the limousine business, transporting entertainers in style. Six years later, the September 11 tragedy slowed the business down and when Ray was approached by Mark Linial, owner of Club Shine, and German producers Berman Brothers (producer for Who Let The Dogs Out), he signed a record deal with them and headed for Europe in 2002.
The company will be releasing a single titled People's Choice in the near future. Ray Darwin has already done the video for the song, which is enjoying good rotation on cable and local television. Darwin can be seen most Fridays at Island Village in Ocho Rios, and the Village Café on Barbican R <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div>oad on Tuesday nights, where he has a monthly performance.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> About RAY DARWIN
Thru all the ups and downs , success and failures, I am happy that i still love who i am. I am an artist in more ways than one. A singer / songwriter, but i love to paint. I dabble in all styles, like the practicality of acrylic but i prefer oil. I am challenged to stay with one style, for an artist this is not good. I am the sybil of the art world; multiple impressions (eeh? that name sounds familiar). So i sing! Art is something deeply reassuring for me though. I am always moved and inspired by a great piece of work, be it sculpture, paintings, fashion, photography, decorating, acting, dancing, etc.etc..I also love gardening with a passion..complete silence nature, beauty and my fingers in the soil. I constantly strive to cultivate, be aware of, and maintain the behavior that will enable me to be a better person. But bwoy do i fail a lot!!! Spiritual discipline; my greatest challenge!!! The other thing is i studied music at Bronx Community & Lehman College.....I am very luck having experienced a great career thus far..and it's only just began... Have been on the reggae scene since the 80's....Opening shows for Wailers, Toots, Jimmy Cliff, and many more...Had a great rock band called "Strange Indeed" ( Randy Lee, Ray Lowie, James Liebow, Tony Gracci, oh and Ari Friedman)..I will always love and respect you guy for teaching me so much and putting up with my insanity..I left the band scene and went solo. But it would be years later, before i landed a record deal for Germany as a solo artist. My management in Germany was more interested in my budget (money) at Edel Records than me....Crooks disguised as management, using me(artist) as their decoy to rob the record company...I fought for what they agreed to pay me, got it and exited their burning building.....Germany was the best thing that happen to me in my adult life...Now i see that the record deal was just a link to Europe. After 25 years in NYC, this is where spirit placed me and i am humbled and thankful...Now in Germany, my band is the One Drop reggae band. In Jamaica my band is called Raging Fire.....With One Drop Band , we opened for Buju, Toots and Alpha Blondy in Bern Switzerland, 2006 and in August i performed at Reggae sunslpash with my band Raging fire... In the 90's while with the rock band strange indeed, we shared a warehouse called Exile with filmmakers ( The don himself) - Rich Ardino and Andy Watts...as house mates...I was instantly fascinated with the film world. ....The later part of the 90's i worked with Passport film (Michael Ellenbogen and Ms Illia Chakin with Margarita Happy hour, full length feature. The film debuted at Time Square Virgin mega store.It was a proud moment for all involved but especially for Ms Chakin..I was happy to be a part of the genisis.. ........Is it any wonder that i am soooo excited about the potential of the film industy in Jamaica....For now i will flex my little film muscles with music videos...but i am itching, watching, listening, and planning for my say in this great possibility for the Jamaican film industry....We are a small island but we have so many great STORIES to tell....If you doubt me...Ask PERRY HENZELL...with sincere and appreciative love-May he rest in peace......THE HARDER THEY COME; THE HARDER THEY FALL....Ray Darwin PEOPLE'S CHOICE
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/breakdance.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/breakdance.gif[/img]
its the People's Choice..you cannot deny..when me was a yute [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/dance01.gif[/img]
Live at Sunsplash
For 37-year-old singer Ray Darwin, there is nothing to music like meditating and seeing how he can write songs to take people to another level. Born in Buff Bay, Portland, he was influenced very early on in music by Horace Andy.
According to him, Horace was the first one to put a guitar in his hand and he also had the opportunity to sing with artistes such as Junior Tucker and Clancy Eccles.
Ray loved music so much that at the age of seven, he formed a band called Sound Vibration. Two years later, he migrated to the US. His love affair with music never dwindled. While attending Bronx Community College, he studied Voice and Theory and later gained a scholarship to pursue music at Lehman College. Shortly after, Ray formed a reggae band in New York called Interns of Dub opening for luminaries such as Jimmy Cliff, Toots and the Maytals, Wailers and the Blues Brothers.
Deciding he needed a change, Ray switched to rock 'n' roll music signing to the label Rock World Sony. Four years later, he gave it all up and went into the limousine business, transporting entertainers in style. Six years later, the September 11 tragedy slowed the business down and when Ray was approached by Mark Linial, owner of Club Shine, and German producers Berman Brothers (producer for Who Let The Dogs Out), he signed a record deal with them and headed for Europe in 2002.
The company will be releasing a single titled People's Choice in the near future. Ray Darwin has already done the video for the song, which is enjoying good rotation on cable and local television. Darwin can be seen most Fridays at Island Village in Ocho Rios, and the Village Café on Barbican R <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div>oad on Tuesday nights, where he has a monthly performance.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> About RAY DARWIN
Thru all the ups and downs , success and failures, I am happy that i still love who i am. I am an artist in more ways than one. A singer / songwriter, but i love to paint. I dabble in all styles, like the practicality of acrylic but i prefer oil. I am challenged to stay with one style, for an artist this is not good. I am the sybil of the art world; multiple impressions (eeh? that name sounds familiar). So i sing! Art is something deeply reassuring for me though. I am always moved and inspired by a great piece of work, be it sculpture, paintings, fashion, photography, decorating, acting, dancing, etc.etc..I also love gardening with a passion..complete silence nature, beauty and my fingers in the soil. I constantly strive to cultivate, be aware of, and maintain the behavior that will enable me to be a better person. But bwoy do i fail a lot!!! Spiritual discipline; my greatest challenge!!! The other thing is i studied music at Bronx Community & Lehman College.....I am very luck having experienced a great career thus far..and it's only just began... Have been on the reggae scene since the 80's....Opening shows for Wailers, Toots, Jimmy Cliff, and many more...Had a great rock band called "Strange Indeed" ( Randy Lee, Ray Lowie, James Liebow, Tony Gracci, oh and Ari Friedman)..I will always love and respect you guy for teaching me so much and putting up with my insanity..I left the band scene and went solo. But it would be years later, before i landed a record deal for Germany as a solo artist. My management in Germany was more interested in my budget (money) at Edel Records than me....Crooks disguised as management, using me(artist) as their decoy to rob the record company...I fought for what they agreed to pay me, got it and exited their burning building.....Germany was the best thing that happen to me in my adult life...Now i see that the record deal was just a link to Europe. After 25 years in NYC, this is where spirit placed me and i am humbled and thankful...Now in Germany, my band is the One Drop reggae band. In Jamaica my band is called Raging Fire.....With One Drop Band , we opened for Buju, Toots and Alpha Blondy in Bern Switzerland, 2006 and in August i performed at Reggae sunslpash with my band Raging fire... In the 90's while with the rock band strange indeed, we shared a warehouse called Exile with filmmakers ( The don himself) - Rich Ardino and Andy Watts...as house mates...I was instantly fascinated with the film world. ....The later part of the 90's i worked with Passport film (Michael Ellenbogen and Ms Illia Chakin with Margarita Happy hour, full length feature. The film debuted at Time Square Virgin mega store.It was a proud moment for all involved but especially for Ms Chakin..I was happy to be a part of the genisis.. ........Is it any wonder that i am soooo excited about the potential of the film industy in Jamaica....For now i will flex my little film muscles with music videos...but i am itching, watching, listening, and planning for my say in this great possibility for the Jamaican film industry....We are a small island but we have so many great STORIES to tell....If you doubt me...Ask PERRY HENZELL...with sincere and appreciative love-May he rest in peace......THE HARDER THEY COME; THE HARDER THEY FALL....Ray Darwin PEOPLE'S CHOICE
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/breakdance.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/breakdance.gif[/img]
its the People's Choice..you cannot deny..when me was a yute [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/dance01.gif[/img]
Live at Sunsplash