<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Wednesday, June 07, 2006
Martin... I really don't want to just write or sing a song for the popularity of the song. I want to inspire and touch people's lives through my songs
Since becoming Digicel's second Rising Star in 2005, Christopher Martin has become one of the nation's busiest performers. Dubbed 'The Governor from Back Pasture', he has appeared on numerous stage shows, community, school and church events. The list of major shows to his credit includes; Western Consciousness, Foundation Showcase, Genesis 2006, Jamaica Carnival, Spring Break, Fun in the Sun and the Prime Minister's Gala.
And now, with his first overseas tour booked for New York, Miami and Bahamas during the summer, Martin will be travelling extensively over the next few months.
Martin is currently working with producers Christopher Birch, Robert Livingston, Preston Shane Brown and Kingy, to finalise his debut album. The album will be produced under the Big Yard label, to which Martin has been signed since February of this year.
Although a definite date for the release has not been confirmed, Martin is promising fans something to look forward to. "The album will be well composed, as I am working with some of the best producers in the country," he promised.
A former student of St Jago High School, Martin has released five singles: one, a cover of Neyo's popular song, So Sick (which featured Bass-C from T.O.K.); and four originals: Love Is All We Need, Please Don't Go, I Don't Have It and Dreams, all penned by Martin. "I took time out to learn about the music industry," said Martin. "I really don't want to just write or sing a song for the popularity of the song. I want to inspire and touch people's lives through my songs. It is for this reason that I have only released five songs. I simply want to produce good music."
Having achieved some success in the music industry, Martin is hoping to have the same success in the classroom. In September, he will be enrolling at the University of Technology, to pursue undergraduate studies majoring in Banking and Finance.
The Rising Star can now also add 'actor' to his resumé. Martin is lead actor in Trevor Nairne's musical, Amen Corner, currently playing at Centre Stage Theatre. His character, David, plays the piano in church, but later becomes rebellious and decides to leave home and join his friends in Kingston, while attending music school in pursuit of a secular music career.
"Digicel Rising Stars has opened so many doors for me and for that, I am grateful," said Martin, who made an appeal to Jamaicans to support Amen Corner. "Rising Stars has given us an opportunity to put our talent on display for all to see and judge. Before that show, I was just a teenager in Back Pasture, singing in church and at community events, today I am on the verge of a successful music career."
With an album on the way, upcoming tours and several shows booked locally, Martin sees himself heading to the top of the music industry. "In two to five years, I'd love to see myself as a very successful recording artiste, breaking boundaries for my family and country," he said.
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lifestyle..._YEAR_LATER.asp
Take My WIngs (me neva undastand why some pieces of this modern day and some old plantation slavery style) [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img]
Giving it
me read on yardflex whey wan yute seh it mek im uncomfortable fe hear a man a sing bout "giving it to yu" [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Video Inteview..(me nu screen..so me hope nutten shocking nu een dey)
Martin... I really don't want to just write or sing a song for the popularity of the song. I want to inspire and touch people's lives through my songs
Since becoming Digicel's second Rising Star in 2005, Christopher Martin has become one of the nation's busiest performers. Dubbed 'The Governor from Back Pasture', he has appeared on numerous stage shows, community, school and church events. The list of major shows to his credit includes; Western Consciousness, Foundation Showcase, Genesis 2006, Jamaica Carnival, Spring Break, Fun in the Sun and the Prime Minister's Gala.
And now, with his first overseas tour booked for New York, Miami and Bahamas during the summer, Martin will be travelling extensively over the next few months.
Martin is currently working with producers Christopher Birch, Robert Livingston, Preston Shane Brown and Kingy, to finalise his debut album. The album will be produced under the Big Yard label, to which Martin has been signed since February of this year.
Although a definite date for the release has not been confirmed, Martin is promising fans something to look forward to. "The album will be well composed, as I am working with some of the best producers in the country," he promised.
A former student of St Jago High School, Martin has released five singles: one, a cover of Neyo's popular song, So Sick (which featured Bass-C from T.O.K.); and four originals: Love Is All We Need, Please Don't Go, I Don't Have It and Dreams, all penned by Martin. "I took time out to learn about the music industry," said Martin. "I really don't want to just write or sing a song for the popularity of the song. I want to inspire and touch people's lives through my songs. It is for this reason that I have only released five songs. I simply want to produce good music."
Having achieved some success in the music industry, Martin is hoping to have the same success in the classroom. In September, he will be enrolling at the University of Technology, to pursue undergraduate studies majoring in Banking and Finance.
The Rising Star can now also add 'actor' to his resumé. Martin is lead actor in Trevor Nairne's musical, Amen Corner, currently playing at Centre Stage Theatre. His character, David, plays the piano in church, but later becomes rebellious and decides to leave home and join his friends in Kingston, while attending music school in pursuit of a secular music career.
"Digicel Rising Stars has opened so many doors for me and for that, I am grateful," said Martin, who made an appeal to Jamaicans to support Amen Corner. "Rising Stars has given us an opportunity to put our talent on display for all to see and judge. Before that show, I was just a teenager in Back Pasture, singing in church and at community events, today I am on the verge of a successful music career."
With an album on the way, upcoming tours and several shows booked locally, Martin sees himself heading to the top of the music industry. "In two to five years, I'd love to see myself as a very successful recording artiste, breaking boundaries for my family and country," he said.
http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lifestyle..._YEAR_LATER.asp
Take My WIngs (me neva undastand why some pieces of this modern day and some old plantation slavery style) [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img]
Giving it
me read on yardflex whey wan yute seh it mek im uncomfortable fe hear a man a sing bout "giving it to yu" [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Video Inteview..(me nu screen..so me hope nutten shocking nu een dey)