me feel owl [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img] me memba going to the 2nd show eena Mandeville..fuss time realise sey jamaica cyaan get so coal..wanda wha happen to de likkle breddren me did a dis..den when me tink gunshot a buss (false alarm) me heng awn to him. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img].im was very cool looking out fe me [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/notworthy.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Tony Rebel's Rebel Salute has been quite popular for approximately 15 years. - Winston Sill/Freelance Photographer
Deejay Tony Rebel says that when he started 'Rebel Salute' 15 years ago, he had no idea that it would reach this far and get this big - the annual January concert now held at the Port Kaiser Sports Centre in St. Elizabeth pulling in many thousands over the last few stagings.
"People request the thing and it move like a divine mandate. Is like a spiritual ark travelling and we direct it," Rebel told The Gleaner.
When the Tru-Juice Rebel Salute 2007 takes place on Saturday, three days before Tony Rebel's actual birthday, it will be more a matter of multiples than pairs. The extensive line-up of performers for the reggae marathon includes Tarrus Riley, Queen Ifrica, Luciano, Capleton, Ini Kamoze, Chalice, Busy Signal, DeMarco and Tony Rebel himself, with Steele from Canada and Collie Buddz from the United States by way of the Bahamas as two of the few overseas-based guests.
Special pair
There is one special pair, though, as Rebel says Ernie Smith and Pluto Shervington will be onstage together going past midnight. "It's a real education in who sings what," he said, referring to the commonplace confusion between the lyrical maestros' material.
As the show has grown from its Brooks Park, Mandeville, days until now, Rebel says in terms of organisation "you always need to improve. It is always challenging. When you do what you love and love what you do it is always a stepping stone to move forward."
Among the organisations which will benefit from the Tru-Juice Rebel Salute 2007 is the Alligator Pond Basic School.
The other sponsors include Security Innovations, CVM TV, Hype TV, The Gleaner, IRIE FM, the Jamaica Tourist Board, Grizzly's Entertainment and Super Plus. General admission is $1,300 pre-sold and $1,500 at the gate, with tickets going on sale at Fontana Pharmacy and Haughton's Pharmacy offices, Flames Productions office and Cooyah outlets today.
And while Rebel Salute may have grown exponentially, there are some things that have not and will not change. "No meat, no alcohol, straight," Rebel said. "No profanity, no guns, no bad vibes, Rebel Salute 15th anniversary inna 2K Love."
The concert begins at 8:00 p.m. sharp
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Tony Rebel's Rebel Salute has been quite popular for approximately 15 years. - Winston Sill/Freelance Photographer
Deejay Tony Rebel says that when he started 'Rebel Salute' 15 years ago, he had no idea that it would reach this far and get this big - the annual January concert now held at the Port Kaiser Sports Centre in St. Elizabeth pulling in many thousands over the last few stagings.
"People request the thing and it move like a divine mandate. Is like a spiritual ark travelling and we direct it," Rebel told The Gleaner.
When the Tru-Juice Rebel Salute 2007 takes place on Saturday, three days before Tony Rebel's actual birthday, it will be more a matter of multiples than pairs. The extensive line-up of performers for the reggae marathon includes Tarrus Riley, Queen Ifrica, Luciano, Capleton, Ini Kamoze, Chalice, Busy Signal, DeMarco and Tony Rebel himself, with Steele from Canada and Collie Buddz from the United States by way of the Bahamas as two of the few overseas-based guests.
Special pair
There is one special pair, though, as Rebel says Ernie Smith and Pluto Shervington will be onstage together going past midnight. "It's a real education in who sings what," he said, referring to the commonplace confusion between the lyrical maestros' material.
As the show has grown from its Brooks Park, Mandeville, days until now, Rebel says in terms of organisation "you always need to improve. It is always challenging. When you do what you love and love what you do it is always a stepping stone to move forward."
Among the organisations which will benefit from the Tru-Juice Rebel Salute 2007 is the Alligator Pond Basic School.
The other sponsors include Security Innovations, CVM TV, Hype TV, The Gleaner, IRIE FM, the Jamaica Tourist Board, Grizzly's Entertainment and Super Plus. General admission is $1,300 pre-sold and $1,500 at the gate, with tickets going on sale at Fontana Pharmacy and Haughton's Pharmacy offices, Flames Productions office and Cooyah outlets today.
And while Rebel Salute may have grown exponentially, there are some things that have not and will not change. "No meat, no alcohol, straight," Rebel said. "No profanity, no guns, no bad vibes, Rebel Salute 15th anniversary inna 2K Love."
The concert begins at 8:00 p.m. sharp