<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I have been reading through all the comments on the "VP bought Greensleeves" post and all the whining got me sick. When did Jamaicans and other Caribbean people become such pathetic whining pussies? "Oh VP is killing reggae music; VP don’t bus no artists, they just wait until they are hot already and give them contracts; Reggae music is gonna die." Shut the [censored] up Mr. Black, why are we depending on Mr. White and Mr. Yellow to save our music? We can unite and save it ourselves. But no, all we want to do is drink Hennessey and scream "Alliance!!" Shoot your brother and say "A Portmore Empire mi defend".
Mr. White decide to sell Mr. Black’s music to Mr. Yellow for $6 million, don’t you think if some Mr. Blacks had been doing things collectively with other Mr. Black over the years, they could have bout the Greensleeves catalog. Where is Jammy's, Exterminator, In de Streets and the other small reggae labels?
You all need to stop looking outside people; stop blaming VP, a fox can only be a fox so don’t expect it to be a lion. Start building your own and stop believing that others are obligated to do what is in your interest. Didn't we all see this with Chris Blackwell and the Wailers? The group had a little rift so he broke them up and market Bob alone, until today, Bob is still the only artist reggae has to offer on a real international scale.
Look at dancehall, Shabba Ranks prove that you don’t have to look like Sean Paul and Shaggy to sell a lot of records once you get the proper marketing. But do you think VP will ever put out a marketing budget for say a Sizzla like they did for Sean Paul? Of course not, and I have nothing against Sean Paul, he is a great artist, not quite as good as Super Cat, but I think he is better than Junior Cat. He is definitely not in Sizzla’s class however, although record sales will tell a completely different story. I just use him as an example to show that what is currently happening is nothing new, VP as always been a vulture and a parasite. So why are all these people whining all of a sudden?
Is it Mr. Yellow’s fault that Mr. Black chooses to fight and show off on each other rather than build together? While Mr. Black was bling blinging and warring, Mr. Yellow was planning and strategizing. Now Mr. Black wants to scream that reggae is dying. Shut the [censored] up and save it. Reggae was created by Mr. Black and only he can save it from dying.
If you are not happy about what happened yesterday, pull up your sleeves, drop the crab in barrel mentality, stop embracing stupidity and get to work. </div></div>
What happened yesterday was just the tip of the iceberg, the smoke before the fire, "judgment nuh start yet."
I have been reading through all the comments on the "VP bought Greensleeves" post and all the whining got me sick. When did Jamaicans and other Caribbean people become such pathetic whining pussies? "Oh VP is killing reggae music; VP don’t bus no artists, they just wait until they are hot already and give them contracts; Reggae music is gonna die." Shut the [censored] up Mr. Black, why are we depending on Mr. White and Mr. Yellow to save our music? We can unite and save it ourselves. But no, all we want to do is drink Hennessey and scream "Alliance!!" Shoot your brother and say "A Portmore Empire mi defend".
Mr. White decide to sell Mr. Black’s music to Mr. Yellow for $6 million, don’t you think if some Mr. Blacks had been doing things collectively with other Mr. Black over the years, they could have bout the Greensleeves catalog. Where is Jammy's, Exterminator, In de Streets and the other small reggae labels?
You all need to stop looking outside people; stop blaming VP, a fox can only be a fox so don’t expect it to be a lion. Start building your own and stop believing that others are obligated to do what is in your interest. Didn't we all see this with Chris Blackwell and the Wailers? The group had a little rift so he broke them up and market Bob alone, until today, Bob is still the only artist reggae has to offer on a real international scale.
Look at dancehall, Shabba Ranks prove that you don’t have to look like Sean Paul and Shaggy to sell a lot of records once you get the proper marketing. But do you think VP will ever put out a marketing budget for say a Sizzla like they did for Sean Paul? Of course not, and I have nothing against Sean Paul, he is a great artist, not quite as good as Super Cat, but I think he is better than Junior Cat. He is definitely not in Sizzla’s class however, although record sales will tell a completely different story. I just use him as an example to show that what is currently happening is nothing new, VP as always been a vulture and a parasite. So why are all these people whining all of a sudden?
Is it Mr. Yellow’s fault that Mr. Black chooses to fight and show off on each other rather than build together? While Mr. Black was bling blinging and warring, Mr. Yellow was planning and strategizing. Now Mr. Black wants to scream that reggae is dying. Shut the [censored] up and save it. Reggae was created by Mr. Black and only he can save it from dying.
If you are not happy about what happened yesterday, pull up your sleeves, drop the crab in barrel mentality, stop embracing stupidity and get to work. </div></div>
What happened yesterday was just the tip of the iceberg, the smoke before the fire, "judgment nuh start yet."