Etana prepares to launch strong debut
published: Tuesday | February 19, 2008
Tennesia Malcolm, Gleaner Writer
Jamaica-gleaner.com
DON'T ASK her age, Etana's not telling. She will tell you, however, that she is a Gemini, the Zodiac sign represented by the twins.
"People say Geminis have split personalities, but those who are close to me say the love inside me is what comes across most," she said.
A love and zest for life which endeared her to Jamaican audiences two years ago with Wrong Address, a poignant ballad that provided a peek under the carpet of corporate hiring.
Not willing to bask in the glory of one-hit stardom, Etana followed up in 2007 with Roots, a song of upliftment which gained cult status and catapulted her to stardom.
Not bad for a girl who just wanted to ditch the short skirts and hair weaves of the R&B world in Florida in favour of an unencumbered lifestyle as the owner of an Internet café in Jamaica. But a chance visit to Fifth Element Records landed her a gig as backup vocalist for Richie Spice. Her plan was to travel once with the dreadlocked singer, then return to her business initiatives.
That plan backfired. One tour ticket led to another and still another. Now 2008, Etana is preparing her debut album, titled Etana - The Strong One, to be released in April.
The 13-track disc, to be released by VP Records and the singer's Free Mind Records, incorporates Etana staples, but will offer some deviations.
"We didn't want a regular album saying 'Rasta ... all the way'. My album is just about life itself. There is something in there for everyone," she told The Gleaner.
She shares production and writing credits on the album with Stephen Stanley, Sly Dunbar, Robbie Lyn, Dean Fraser and Robert Livingston. The latter's most famous charge, Shaggy, attained international recognition with a pop/dancehall hybrid.
Whether Livingston's inclusion was a deliberate marketing strategy, Etana did not say.
NOT LIMITING MYSELF
"Music is just music. As a singer, I just don't want to limit myself to anything ... there is acoustic, ska on there," she says of the album's compilation.
Livingston's direct contribution is evidenced in Overcome, which Etana says is more acoustic, and Owe Nobody Nothing But Love, one of the songs she hesitatingly terms 'pop-u-lar'.
But when most reggae artistes record songs done entirely in the standard language, it usually spells crossover.
How successful this bid will be remains to be seen. The Rastafarian singer says she harbours no expectations of grandeur.
"I'm hoping that it will be more positive than negative. My main focus will be on downloads" and not physical sales, are her plans for an album which, if nothing else, will confirm that she has found her niche.
A niche she had to come full circle to find.
Born Shauna McKenzie in August Town, St Andrew, she moved to Florida during her pre-teens with her mother Justina, but she struggled to fit in.
"America did not accept me for me. It was all about fitting in ... I knew I was gonna be happy coming back to Jamaica. The people gave me love and acceptance for who I am," she said.
Not an easy feat since the major chunk of dancehall divas have employed a formula of hair, jewellery and fashion. After a name change (Etana means the strong one) and conversion to Rasta, she remains loyal to tradition than trends - sporting long skirts and promoting self-esteem and upliftment.
"I don't worry about anything," she said. "I'm a lot free-spirited. I go with my spirit, it doesn't matter what's out there."
What's out there for the award-winning singer is much love from local fans who see her presence as a glimmer of hope for better music.
This fame, which has seen her hit charts in Europe and Japan, is a burden she welcomes but doesn't over-absorb. She juggles the day-to-day running of Free Mind with the creative demands of being a singer/songwriter.
Now, her biggest project to date beckons. All she wishes is that "they get the messages. I'll close my eyes and hope for the best".
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
published: Tuesday | February 19, 2008
Tennesia Malcolm, Gleaner Writer
Jamaica-gleaner.com
DON'T ASK her age, Etana's not telling. She will tell you, however, that she is a Gemini, the Zodiac sign represented by the twins.
"People say Geminis have split personalities, but those who are close to me say the love inside me is what comes across most," she said.
A love and zest for life which endeared her to Jamaican audiences two years ago with Wrong Address, a poignant ballad that provided a peek under the carpet of corporate hiring.
Not willing to bask in the glory of one-hit stardom, Etana followed up in 2007 with Roots, a song of upliftment which gained cult status and catapulted her to stardom.
Not bad for a girl who just wanted to ditch the short skirts and hair weaves of the R&B world in Florida in favour of an unencumbered lifestyle as the owner of an Internet café in Jamaica. But a chance visit to Fifth Element Records landed her a gig as backup vocalist for Richie Spice. Her plan was to travel once with the dreadlocked singer, then return to her business initiatives.
That plan backfired. One tour ticket led to another and still another. Now 2008, Etana is preparing her debut album, titled Etana - The Strong One, to be released in April.
The 13-track disc, to be released by VP Records and the singer's Free Mind Records, incorporates Etana staples, but will offer some deviations.
"We didn't want a regular album saying 'Rasta ... all the way'. My album is just about life itself. There is something in there for everyone," she told The Gleaner.
She shares production and writing credits on the album with Stephen Stanley, Sly Dunbar, Robbie Lyn, Dean Fraser and Robert Livingston. The latter's most famous charge, Shaggy, attained international recognition with a pop/dancehall hybrid.
Whether Livingston's inclusion was a deliberate marketing strategy, Etana did not say.
NOT LIMITING MYSELF
"Music is just music. As a singer, I just don't want to limit myself to anything ... there is acoustic, ska on there," she says of the album's compilation.
Livingston's direct contribution is evidenced in Overcome, which Etana says is more acoustic, and Owe Nobody Nothing But Love, one of the songs she hesitatingly terms 'pop-u-lar'.
But when most reggae artistes record songs done entirely in the standard language, it usually spells crossover.
How successful this bid will be remains to be seen. The Rastafarian singer says she harbours no expectations of grandeur.
"I'm hoping that it will be more positive than negative. My main focus will be on downloads" and not physical sales, are her plans for an album which, if nothing else, will confirm that she has found her niche.
A niche she had to come full circle to find.
Born Shauna McKenzie in August Town, St Andrew, she moved to Florida during her pre-teens with her mother Justina, but she struggled to fit in.
"America did not accept me for me. It was all about fitting in ... I knew I was gonna be happy coming back to Jamaica. The people gave me love and acceptance for who I am," she said.
Not an easy feat since the major chunk of dancehall divas have employed a formula of hair, jewellery and fashion. After a name change (Etana means the strong one) and conversion to Rasta, she remains loyal to tradition than trends - sporting long skirts and promoting self-esteem and upliftment.
"I don't worry about anything," she said. "I'm a lot free-spirited. I go with my spirit, it doesn't matter what's out there."
What's out there for the award-winning singer is much love from local fans who see her presence as a glimmer of hope for better music.
This fame, which has seen her hit charts in Europe and Japan, is a burden she welcomes but doesn't over-absorb. She juggles the day-to-day running of Free Mind with the creative demands of being a singer/songwriter.
Now, her biggest project to date beckons. All she wishes is that "they get the messages. I'll close my eyes and hope for the best".
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
....love dat song deh fi real