I want to know what was the reaction when say a new bob marley track hit the radio? I rarely get a great reaction from a new song nowadays. But listening to a bob marley track that is great now...was itconsidered to be a great song or did it just grew on people?
Old schoolers come here deh
Re: Old schoolers come here deh
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KingaLing</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I want to know what was the reaction when say a new bob marley track hit the radio? I rarely get a great reaction from a new song nowadays. But listening to a bob marley track that is great now...was itconsidered to be a great song or did it just grew on people? </div></div>
well i can't speak for all but being born in the 70's i was surrounded by bob marley & the wailers music...along with the fact that my parents were/are great admirers of his music...and for as far back as i can remember (3 years old) there was something about his music that moved me...
one of the first songs i really remember was 'dem belly full'...the 70's was a very dynamic/volatile time in jamaica and even as a yute i knew there was something special about his music...jamaica is not really about a 'track hitting the radio'...the music of the street is more driven by sound-men and word of mouth as far as the hottest new songs...
i remember the 1980 election on tv they always played 'draw bad card'...and i remember being moved deeply by the song...i always associate that somg with the madness that was 1980 election time...never heard so much gunshot like wah dem buss up over waterhouse before or since in my life...
to me, marley tracks hot from creation...regardless if received radio airplay or not...straight classics;
a song like 'natural mystic'- just timeless and mystical...a songs like 'war' and 'zimbabwe' juss mek the militant fire blaze hotter...
songs like 'sun is shining' and 'easy skanking' just make you want to take in life...
yea man...big ras-pect to the gong everytime!
Re: Old schoolers come here deh
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KingaLing</div><div class="ubbcode-body">who and who was in the group and where to you think Peter Tosh stand? </div></div>
mi madda love peter tosh gone to bed...
not sure what you mean by who was in the group; if original wailers with bunny & peter or i-threes;
in my time it was the i-threes;
as far as peter, definite icon & uncompromising soldier inna jah army- legend...but that said, bob marley was just sent for a purpose so i honestly can't compare any other musician to him...