The verses are scary if you come to the bible with the assumpyion of a cruel God. However, there is a lot of additional information that would make sense if you really are willing to see how far the rabbit hole goes.
It depends on your concept of God......
My concept of God is that God is Nature(everything that Exist).
God (nature) is beyond Good and evil
If we apply the morality of Man to God then yes God is both cruel and good.
The God of the bible is extremely capricious and partisan.
Yet Western theologians says he is none of the above
It depends on your concept of God......
My concept of God is that God is Nature(everything that Exist).
God (nature) is beyond Good and evil
If we apply the morality of Man to God then yes God is both cruel and good.
The God of the bible is extremely capricious and partisan.
Yet Western theologians says he is none of the above
mii was chattinn bout da old testament version of da bible description aff god widd genocide tings
so den woo create nature iff natt god? ar yuh seyinn yuh beeleeve inn wan good woo iss boat good ann bad
both...
there is no universal "rasta position"...on whether "god" is cruel...
each individual is at a different point along the timeline of comprehending life and the philosophies therein...
to me it is kind of an infantile question...
were the typhoons, tsunamis & hurricanes & volcanoes that killed hundreds of thousands of people cruel?
too many people nowadays have conflated the principles of creation into a narrow misguided word called "god"
Religion consists more in fervent hope than observation. There is in most religions the idea that Good is rewarded and Evil punished, that if we are kind and compassionate and just, then God (or gods, according to taste) will reward us. There is no evidence for this. In fact cancer strikes the good as often as the bad and the intelligently amoral, not the virtuous, prosper. It does not seem likely that babies born with horrible birth directs are being punished for sins committed in utero. In most places and most times, people have lived in misery and died in agony. Why they have deserved this is not clear as divine justice.
Nor is there support for the Christian notion of a loving God in the natural world. When a young giraffe is attacked by hyenas, disemboweled and bled until it collapses and the hyenas begin eating it while it is still alive, I for one cannot see much loving kindness in it. Just a giraffe, you say. It probably seems otherwise to giraffes, agreeable creatures who eat leaves.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.