Re: Afrikans Are Ante-Christian Not Anti-Christian
franksterr, you are raising some good points and I wish I could spend the time I feel they require. Rather than rush through and simply look as though I am being argumentative, let me simply put one thing forth that struck me form your reply (and I want to watch the whole video series you posted lol):
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: franksterr</div><div class="ubbcode-body">monk
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Consider, Mesopotamia was long held to be the cradle of civilization, then China, now Africa...so just consider for a moment if it were NOT African, or even (as I think something developing concurrently and somewhat independently at least possibly) would that then rob Egyptian myths of their relevance and importance, or diminish their contribution towards fowarding our understanding and interpretations of the communal archetypal well from which we all need to draw water from?</div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">If Africans are considered the first or originators now, should we not celebrate it while the world agrees?</span>
part of the problem which people who have faced cultural robbery is they feel a need and a want to replace what was lost and to 'reconnect' so to speak. I feel this is or can be exploitive if not fully investigated. Would it be ironic if Haggin traced his roots back to a conquered nation absorbed into the Egyptian hegemony.
This happened actually to an aunt of mine who swore up and down she was of scottish descent. Eventually she discovered she was actually Irish during a search for her roots.
This desire for connectivity happens on many levels and to many different degrees and we see it's power for both good and for bad- it is why 46% of otherwise completely rational intelligent people will believe in the collected writings gathered into a book whose original language none of them speak, over the hard concrete facts of scientific discovery that prove man and ape share common ancestry. So I think it is very common to people in general. As social animals who belong to large groups, it's understandable.
But the spiritual process that results in the actual point, is internal and individual, and surpasses the localized entry point to the equation- that is what I have not seen in Hagin's work. Yet?
It is a bit like Santa Claus. Everything is great while you believe the myth and people work and do their utmost to keep the soft lie going. When the truth comes out, suddenly it's not so good.
Hagins seems to stake a lot on Egypt and his mythic interpretations. I'll be honest, the video where he referenced the ancestor orbs is seriously troubling to me.
That is stated from my current perspective, being however ignorant of his greater work.
I speak here for myself- I would rather have never believed in Santa and don't agree with sugar pills.
I feel we must be honest, even if that is brutal. Otherwise, our homes are built on sand. The truth is actually that all culture is illusory and responsive to conditions, and is simply a fabrication. While some manifestations of culture have propelled us forward as a human race, other manifestations have caused much damage. Mayans may have developed advanced astronomical equations and observations, but they still killed people for make believe gods. For example. And great heaps of culture are built on developing divisive identity with a collective to which others are seen not to belong to.
What would happen if tomorrow some tomb were uncovered and incontrovertible proof it was Yashua's emerged.
It may never happen, but one has to admit it is plausible- setting aside the argument as to how plausible. What then, for Hagin. Well of course he would abandon the argument of never existing, and simply stake out a position against divinity.
Anyway, personally, I feel that Africa's (and other previous title holders) contributions to the world's heritage are exemplary and don't require justification outside of their own merits.
If human value is inherent, self evident, and intrinsic, you will see as I do the evil of pride. That's really what I am getting at.
franksterr, you are raising some good points and I wish I could spend the time I feel they require. Rather than rush through and simply look as though I am being argumentative, let me simply put one thing forth that struck me form your reply (and I want to watch the whole video series you posted lol):
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: franksterr</div><div class="ubbcode-body">monk
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Consider, Mesopotamia was long held to be the cradle of civilization, then China, now Africa...so just consider for a moment if it were NOT African, or even (as I think something developing concurrently and somewhat independently at least possibly) would that then rob Egyptian myths of their relevance and importance, or diminish their contribution towards fowarding our understanding and interpretations of the communal archetypal well from which we all need to draw water from?</div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">If Africans are considered the first or originators now, should we not celebrate it while the world agrees?</span>
part of the problem which people who have faced cultural robbery is they feel a need and a want to replace what was lost and to 'reconnect' so to speak. I feel this is or can be exploitive if not fully investigated. Would it be ironic if Haggin traced his roots back to a conquered nation absorbed into the Egyptian hegemony.
This happened actually to an aunt of mine who swore up and down she was of scottish descent. Eventually she discovered she was actually Irish during a search for her roots.
This desire for connectivity happens on many levels and to many different degrees and we see it's power for both good and for bad- it is why 46% of otherwise completely rational intelligent people will believe in the collected writings gathered into a book whose original language none of them speak, over the hard concrete facts of scientific discovery that prove man and ape share common ancestry. So I think it is very common to people in general. As social animals who belong to large groups, it's understandable.
But the spiritual process that results in the actual point, is internal and individual, and surpasses the localized entry point to the equation- that is what I have not seen in Hagin's work. Yet?
It is a bit like Santa Claus. Everything is great while you believe the myth and people work and do their utmost to keep the soft lie going. When the truth comes out, suddenly it's not so good.
Hagins seems to stake a lot on Egypt and his mythic interpretations. I'll be honest, the video where he referenced the ancestor orbs is seriously troubling to me.
That is stated from my current perspective, being however ignorant of his greater work.
I speak here for myself- I would rather have never believed in Santa and don't agree with sugar pills.
I feel we must be honest, even if that is brutal. Otherwise, our homes are built on sand. The truth is actually that all culture is illusory and responsive to conditions, and is simply a fabrication. While some manifestations of culture have propelled us forward as a human race, other manifestations have caused much damage. Mayans may have developed advanced astronomical equations and observations, but they still killed people for make believe gods. For example. And great heaps of culture are built on developing divisive identity with a collective to which others are seen not to belong to.
What would happen if tomorrow some tomb were uncovered and incontrovertible proof it was Yashua's emerged.
It may never happen, but one has to admit it is plausible- setting aside the argument as to how plausible. What then, for Hagin. Well of course he would abandon the argument of never existing, and simply stake out a position against divinity.
Anyway, personally, I feel that Africa's (and other previous title holders) contributions to the world's heritage are exemplary and don't require justification outside of their own merits.
If human value is inherent, self evident, and intrinsic, you will see as I do the evil of pride. That's really what I am getting at.
I go away for a bit and you guys still a gwaan pan dis.