Granted there is a doctrine out there about "original sin," but that has nothing to do with whether we are born with a "wired" connection to some god, does it? Aren't we really all born WITHOUT belief in some higher power and only come to accept one or another through exposure and influence from others?
Why are we all born godless?
Re: Why are we all born godless?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Maybe we are born with some kind of imprint? Upon birth, how did my babies know to reach for me to receive nourishment? </div></div>
Well I can't speak on that, however, considering what some believe is needed to get right with god, so to speak, isn't that something we have to be taught? How many toddlers do we know whose first word is "god" or "Jesus?" How many grow up curious to know, "what must I do to be saved?" How many grow up seeking Allah or Krishna on their own?
catholics have an out, but I believe your average evangelical has a problem with that.
but I agree with one of Hitchens famous points, when he says quite eloquently, that if you were born in Calcutta, you would be whatever your parents living in Calcutta were. I made similar arguments and jumped from my chair when he posited that one too lol.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: _____</div><div class="ubbcode-body">all human beings have the desire to worship...Other than the standard supreme beings of the major religions..some worship the sun, moon, trees, etc...others worship statues and ornaments....some worship themselves... </div></div>We are fascinated with ourselves, aren't we? I'm not being facetious with that question. I mean that humans have a way of looking inward and around us and being fascinated by it all.
From the Bible, Psalm 139:14 "I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful,I know that full well."
From the Koran "Do you want a sign, when the whole creation is full of the signs of God? The structure of your body, how wonderfully complex, how beautifully regulated; the alternations of night and day, of life and death; your sleeping and awakening; your desire to accumulate from the abundance of God, the winds driving abroad the pregnant harmony and order in the midst of diversity; the variety of the human race, and yet their close affinity; fruits, flowers, animals, human beings themselves—are these not signs enough of the presence of a Master-Mind?"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">which Surah dat come from Gungo?</div></div> mi noh know. mi jus fine a book weh quote di qu'ran.
goh look it up an tell wi, nah man?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">We born clothless and knowledge less too.
should we all maintain our state of birth? </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">We born clothless and knowledge less too.
should we all maintain our state of birth? </div></div>
Doc, this is very profound. No! We were born without clothes and our parents clothed us to their standards. I do not know whether we are born godless or even God-free. I do know we all share some sense of something greater than us.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I do know we all share some sense of something greater than us. </div></div>
Well shucks... I think that we humans <span style="font-style: italic">are</span> the greatest beings. In my simple mind there can be nothing greater than conscious beings with LIFE. I have no sense that there exists something greater than we.
If there are other conscious beings in our galaxy, or in other galaxies in the universe, I figure that they will be much like us. That is, beings that are born... and die. They will live in cultures, and have languages.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I do know we all share some sense of something greater than us. </div></div>
Well shucks... I think that we humans <span style="font-style: italic">are</span> the greatest beings. In my simple mind there can be nothing greater than conscious beings with LIFE. I have no sense that there exists something greater than we.
</div></div>You're right, Forty. That was way too presumptuous of me.Let me change that. I feel that many of us as humans have this sense that there is something greater than ourselves.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">From the Bible, Psalm 139:14 "I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful,I know that full well."
From the Koran "Do you want a sign, when the whole creation is full of the signs of God? The structure of your body, how wonderfully complex, how beautifully regulated; the alternations of night and day, of life and death; your sleeping and awakening; your desire to accumulate from the abundance of God, the winds driving abroad the pregnant harmony and order in the midst of diversity; the variety of the human race, and yet their close affinity; fruits, flowers, animals, human beings themselves—are these not signs enough of the presence of a Master-Mind?" </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I do know we all share some sense of something greater than us. </div></div>
</div></div>You're right, Forty. That was way too presumptuous of me.Let me change that. I feel that many of us as humans have this sense that there is something greater than ourselves. </div></div>
going back to what I mentioned about self worship...