How come there is little being said about the haiti earthquake in this forum by the believers,......not rebuking anyone,but it just struck me as very odd.
How come
Re: How come
Just thought there would be SOME discussion regarding the earthquake tragedy,maybe some prayers,maybe some words of sympathies for the victims,maybe some sanky,....maybe some words on what the all mighty all powerful deity had in mind when he instigated this latest mass murder.
But as my granny used to say....PAM !! not a blastid wud from none a de bible people dem.
AS one of those Bible people my heart goes out for the families of those loss in Haiti.
Five of my colleagues have lost family members and we are all numbed by the tragic loss of life and suffering, this is a time to support the survivors with monies and aid in any form we can afford.
The dead have already passed on we can but mourn them and cherish their memories.
The extent of the tragedy pains us all but we as christians weep not only for the loss of life but we also assume not all who die had a relationship with Christ.
Tis but a warning that we should ready ourselves for our own curtain call.
Now here's <span style="font-weight: bold">one</span> christian response
Luk 13:1 There were present at that season some that told him of the Galilaeans, whose blood Pilate had mingled with their sacrifices.
Luk 13:2 And Jesus answering said unto them, <span style="color: #CC0000">Suppose ye that these Galilaeans were sinners above all the Galilaeans, because they suffered such things?
Luk 13:3 I tell you, Nay: but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise perish. </span>Luk 13:4 Or those eighteen, upon whom the tower in Siloam fell, and slew them, think ye that they were sinners above all men that dwelt in Jerusalem? Luk 13:5 I tell you, Nay: but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise <span style="color: #000099">perish</span>
Some may see him as callous but Jesus was saying that the death of so many at one time - the eighteen- or the horrible torture of those who Pilate slew was nothing special we all have an appointment with death and unless we repent we shall all likewise perish. By perish he was not saying just die he meant die unreedemed, that is die physically and spiritually
The same message is repeated in the oft quoted passage that follows
Joh 3:16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not <span style="color: #CC0000">perish,[color:#000099]G622</span> [/color]but have everlasting life.
<span style="color: #000099">G622
apollumi
ap-ol'-loo-mee
From G575 and the base of G3639; to destroy fully (reflexively to perish, or lose), literally or figuratively: - destroy, die, lose, mar, perish.</span>
Luk 13:3 I tell you, Nay: but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise <span style="color: #3333FF">perish.G622</span>
Matthew 27:51 And, behold, the veil of the temple was rent in twain from the top to the bottom; and the earth did quake, and the rocks rent;
52And the graves were opened; and many bodies of the saints which slept arose,
53And came out of the graves after his resurrection, and went into the holy city, and appeared unto many.
I always found this eye witness story disturbing... there was an earthquake, but the result wasnt citizens dying. Instead the dead were uncovered, and "saints" were resurrected into their normal bodies. How come we never hear anything about these dead saints that arose and walked into the city? Note the time fudge... Jesus dies, there is an earthquake... BUT these dead saints arose AFTER Jesus resurreced... and then they went to town... lots of people saw them.
that is a very strange passage.
I mean it makes for one helluva story.
so these lucky zombies got to...what? die again after they were bodily reanimated? would a skull shot take them out again?
I guess cremation would be problematic...
was it a volunteer mission...
imagine the shock when grandma came back home for dinner.
I guess God zapped a new wardrobe into being too, if they had been in the deep six for a while.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Natral</div><div class="ubbcode-body">How come there is little being said about the haiti earthquake in this forum by the believers,......not rebuking anyone,but it just struck me as very odd. </div></div>because like most religious bible thumpers are only self serving hypocrites.
there the same people who turn sunday church session into a fashion show and a who drives what car, and chat people buisness on the church steps
I am already regretting my decision to respond to this post. Are you aware of how many Christians are now and have been in Haiti for many many year helping? Are you aware of the conditions in Haiti long before the earthquake and how many Christian organizations have been in the country? I will tell you why some Christians have no time to come on this board and squabble. It's because they are busy doing something about this tragedy and like I said earlier, they were busy long before the earthquake helping the poor and needy in Haiti.
Perhaps, you can follow the examples of the Christians and go lend a hand in Haiti or go raise funds, food, clothing, etc for the victims instead of coming on a Bulletin Board to berate Christians.
you know what I found exceedingly interesting about this relief effort comepray?
it seems like the Israelis were the first ones in and not waiting for protocols or anything!! Search and Rescues, food distro, setting up hospitals.
a bredren of mine was saying that Israel is often first on deck with aid and assistance, but they are often refused.
It is true that a number of christian organizations and individuals have been in Haiti over the years; some doing humanitarian work, and others a combination of humanitarian assistance and proselytizing. I respect any entity or individual whose sole motivation is to save lives and render assistance to those in need. But I also know cases in which christians, primarily from North America, have descended on Haiti to <span style="font-style: italic">rescue</span> these poor Haitians from 'satanism.' I also know that often "soul-winning" and providing assistance go hand in hand. I wouldn't want to lump all christians or christian groups into one category, but it has to be in poor taste to take advantage of poor, suffering people at their most desperate moment.