Are the first few chapters of Genesis speaking of one wife first created WITH Adam, then a second that is created FROM Adam?
How many wives did Adam have?
Re: How many wives did Adam have?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Are the first few chapters of Genesis speaking of one wife first created WITH Adam, then a second that is created FROM Adam? </div></div>
Never mind that. How did Adam and Eve's sons - Cain, Abel, Seth - find wives?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Are the first few chapters of Genesis speaking of one wife first created WITH Adam, then a second that is created FROM Adam? </div></div>
His first wife was Lilith an he an she couldn't agree at all she neh waan fi "obey" har man at all.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Are the first few chapters of Genesis speaking of one wife first created WITH Adam, then a second that is created FROM Adam? </div></div>
Never mind that. How did Adam and Eve's sons - Cain, Abel, Seth - find wives?
Cause they obviously weren't the fuss ppl on the earth.
After Cain kills Abel and is sent out to wonder, God asks him why he is so troubled and Cain's answer was, that he feared all these ppl out here might slay him.
Adam and Eve was an experiment in a Garden, they were the 1st ppl in that garden but not the earth. They were created not by the all mighty god, but by other gods on the earth.
"Let Us make man in OUR image and OUR likeness"
many christians want to believe this is God talking to jesus and will even bring up scripture bout how jesus said I was with god b4.
An ALL Mighty God wouldn't have to ask Adam where he is or ask Cain what is troubling him. An All Mighty, All Seeing All knowing God would already know dese tings.
There actually many Gods in the bible "with" the All Mighty God, but the church has led ppl to believe seh de whool a dem a de same God.
Just a few more tings de pastah cyaan explain tuh de ppl.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: _____</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dahjah go back an go read genesis 2..
thank u </div></div>read it fi wah, fi unno babylonian interpretation?
textual analysis shows the development of the creation story- there is conflation between at least two sources/versions, not to mention all the precedents in the area upon which these myths are also based and augmented.
it does sort of torpedo the whole omniscient thing- and I've always said that is the weakest part of the whole story- how could an omnipotent benevolent god even allow the Fall in the first place.
It's just a story, people! Why get caught up looking for fern seed? *shrug* Focus on what the story tellers were trying to get across with their limited resources and knowledge: that the world is so wonderful filled with such beauty and that we share it with all of God' creation...and sometimes we make a mess of things and we are not as powerful as we thought.
It's an ancient story shared by many cultures.
my suggestion would be that it is a psychological crutch to try and wrestle with the problem of evil. a story concocted to make us feel a little bit better at the end of the day or a kind of paleolithic coping mechanism that retells itself along archetypal themes.
that there is beauty and wonder in living life is apparent- it's when evil comes in that things get frakked.
where things get really crazy is when these themes get mapped onto astronomical observations and mathematic discoveries.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It's just a story, people! Why get caught up looking for fern seed? *shrug* Focus on what the story tellers were trying to get across with their limited resources and knowledge: that the world is so wonderful filled with such beauty and that we share it with all of God' creation...and sometimes we make a mess of things and we are not as powerful as we thought.
It's an ancient story shared by many cultures. </div></div>
<span style="font-size: 14pt">Finally we are getting somewhere!
Thank you Peasie!</span>
If we consider this a story, and therefore more instructive than factual - <span style="font-weight: bold">how do we differentiate between the historical and the allegorical?</span>
i think there are several tools available to us to accomplish that kind of discernment.
science and logic being two very important ones.
science clearly proves beyond any shadow of a doubt that genesis is not factual.
what then needs to happen is for that realization to be extrapolated- because if there was no fall, then all the christians who have mucked up Yashua's teachings are going to have to go back to the drawing board.
Likewise, all the Jews and Moslems.