for a person to refer to themselves as, "the hand of God" ?
Is it blasphemous
Re: Is it blasphemous
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ILP_ULOOK_GR8</div><div class="ubbcode-body">for a person to refer to themselves as, "the hand of God" ? </div></div>
no just innaccurate!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ILP_ULOOK_GR8</div><div class="ubbcode-body">for a person to refer to themselves as, "the hand of God" ? </div></div>
nope jus outtahdah.
But some ppl are so, what if?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ILP_ULOOK_GR8</div><div class="ubbcode-body">how so?
now wah if di person went on to say that human and God are equal, as in God need humans just as much as humans need God?
The gods were murdered 500 years ago.. so their hands have long decayed!
No,anyone can be a "god",..gods are ten a penny nowadays,man invented god in his own likeness,only black people adopted a white one...LOL !
NO, misguided but not blasphemous .
If he said That he is inseparable with God, since God is suppose to exist in every atom And element of the physical universe, Now.
He would be right.
Since logic support That statement.
If an entity is everpresent, it is therefore in existence in all matter.
And Since man and every physical thing is made up of matter, it further support the statement, of the everpresent God bring inside And outside of him.
in other words God could not have a hand.
Since a hand requires a shape and shape requires boundaries beyond that shape where it foes not exist.
That becomes impossible if God is everpresent.
Now Since I suppose he meant that in a proverbial manner.
So I suggest you ignore tgr foregoing.
On the other hand, I would suggest his deeds should be evidence of this if it is factual.
Afterall God is suppose to use people to Do his deeds...NO??
If this is so, then some person or persons have to function as his means of doing these deeds.
And they could be seen as his proverbial HANDS.
K...so mi see di person again and dem ask mi if mi consider more on what dem seh.
Mi tell dem that I needed more information on what them mean when them say that God and Man are equal and that God needs humans just the same as humans need God.
Ascording to them, God can do nothing "good" in the world unless He has humans that freely CHOOSE to follow and do His biddings. If man doesn't choose (of his own free will) to follow God...then God is unable to carry out his biddings across the earth.
Mi told di person that them sound ah way, but in the guise of being open-minded mi would think on what dem present and come back.
So what oonu think bout that?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ILP_ULOOK_GR8</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
So what oonu think bout that?</div></div>
I think the person is slightly tapped in the head,all this reasoning about a "god" who needs humans to do his "biddings" is veering slightly on the rediculous,sounds like an auction,do people really believe in all this irrational nonsense...?
depends on the context...if they say..."I'm the Hand of God!" <span style="font-style: italic">dun dun duunnn</span>
then he would be arrogant but not necessarily blasphemous...
after all anyone can be at some point a 'hand of god' or a 'hand of the devil'...or maybe even a 'hand of the neutral'...
we shape the world and make it what it is...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ILP_ULOOK_GR8</div><div class="ubbcode-body">for a person to refer to themselves as, "the hand of God" ? </div></div>
depends on the context...if they say..."I'm the Hand of God!" <span style="font-style: italic">dun dun duunnn</span>
then he would be arrogant but not necessarily blasphemous...
after all anyone can be at some point a 'hand of god' or a 'hand of the devil'...or maybe even a 'hand of the neutral'...
we shape the world and make it what it is...
I think Neutral needs his hands...
Quodlibet--
Agreed with the folks who suggested the importance of 'context', but my answer to the question posed initial post would be 'no'.
IMO, I don't think christians even fully understand what it means to be blasphemous (...against the Holy Spirit..as scriptures indicate)..personally, I don't even worry about it ()