Am sitting at a funeral now and wondering how atheists conduct their funerals.
Atheist funeral
Re: Atheist funeral
Music, poetry, readings (usually from the work of the deceased), recollections from family and close friends. It would be most likely referred to as a 'memorial service'. No need for intercessory prayers on behalf of the deceased. No wishful thinking that he/she is now resting in the bossom of Jesus, or "looking down from Heaven on us", or awaiting the resurrection.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Stormmey1</div><div class="ubbcode-body">was just curious as am on the fence bout religion. I dont know bout this heaven and hell thing. that's why i am a having all the fun now if am wrong will see all of unnos in hell
If you`re on the fence it means you dont believe in all the mumbo jumbo religion crap,so it means that you dont believe in "hell" either,"hell" is a construct of christian believers,it`s something they use to convince themselves that they are so pius they wont be entering when they die,it`s their fear,not yours,...unbelievers have no fear of "hell" as it doesnt exist.
As a former Anglican, I can tell you that a lot of Anglicans - a lot, by my estimation, though not all - might actually be agnostics. I know a certain Anglican minister who I strongly suspect is an agnostic. And then there are Anglicans who give up the pretense and become Unitarians, Unitarian Universalists, or agnostics or atheists.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Natral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Stormmey1</div><div class="ubbcode-body">was just curious as am on the fence bout religion. I dont know bout this heaven and hell thing. that's why i am a having all the fun now if am wrong will see all of unnos in hell
If you`re on the fence it means you dont believe in all the mumbo jumbo religion crap,so it means that you dont believe in "hell" either,"hell" is a construct of christian believers,it`s something they use to convince themselves that they are so pius they wont be entering when they die,it`s their fear,not yours,...unbelievers have no fear of "hell" as it doesnt exist. </div></div>
Actually, I often wish that "hell" existed.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body">As a former Anglican, I can tell you that a lot of Anglicans - a lot, by my estimation, though not all - might actually be agnostics. I know a certain Anglican minister who I strongly suspect is an agnostic. And then there are Anglicans who give up the pretense and become Unitarians, Unitarian Universalists, or agnostics or atheists. </div></div>
Agreed ...found myself in that agnostic bracket during an uncertain period in my life...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body">As a former Anglican, I can tell you that a lot of Anglicans - a lot, by my estimation, though not all - might actually be agnostics. I know a certain Anglican minister who I strongly suspect is an agnostic. And then there are Anglicans who give up the pretense and become Unitarians, Unitarian Universalists, or agnostics or atheists. </div></div>
And vice versa. i.e., a number of agnostics become Anglicans / Episcopalians. It just seems that there is a shopping list of religions to choose from. At least where we live. I don't like labels myself, but I guess I would say that I was agnostic. I converted to Anglicanism (Episcopal) last year. The Anglican community (for the most part) is one where there are a lot of seekers and where all are welcomed to come to the Lord's table regardless of belief. I'm Just sharing not defending
and I'm not going to discuss this much further
i'm an atheist who grew up anglican and still, once in a while, goes to anglican church.
i think there's a natural appeal in anglicanism for atheists/agnostics. as a faith, anglicanism is not so much into the hellfire nor meeting up in heaven stuff. more about how to live spiritually in the current world. there's a lot of "love" in anglican sermons.
And even tho I am not in full agreement with their tenets and I am still searching for a church home I have chosen to baptize my girls in the same religion I was brought up in due to the fact that they are more open to dialog and disagreement than other Christian denominations...
I guess for the same reason MG states...they are not a fire and brimstone denomination and more of a moral compass than anything...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Stormmey1</div><div class="ubbcode-body">was just curious as am on the fence bout religion. I dont know bout this heaven and hell thing. that's why i am a having all the fun now if am wrong will see all of unnos in hell
Stormmey1,
Go out and pick up a copy of "The Duppy" by Anthony Winkler (also author of "The Lunatic"
and you'll have a very good idea of both Jamaican and American (U.S.) versions of heaven.
As an atheist I dont care.. what ever gives comfort to my dearest... I know the spot I would like to be buried.. it is in a hill on the Forbes estate in Scotland... Plant a tree over me! And it looks towards Bennachie.. Mons Grampian.. the near the site of the last Romam battle in the UK...It about 5 miles from my home...
Let the chips lay where they fall!!! Still it is Ironic as the Forbes once owned my ancestors!
And I would like the Piper to play Flowers of the Forest!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Stormmey1,
Go out and pick up a copy of "The Duppy" by Anthony Winkler</div></div>
Mek sure yuh doan read dis in a public place. Like I did