Re: Churches unite to transform Jamaica
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Natral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Faithfull</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
fyi, the slaves came to THE Americas with their religion...they needed NO white slave masters to teach them about that, and that is whether they believed in their indigenous religions or the Judea-Christian religion...also membah seh "Christianity" originated IN AFRICA...so smaddie need fi goh study dem history before dem seh certain sinting whey no really goh soh..
I beg to differ,but the slaves came to the americas with *their* religion,not the religion given to them by their white slave masters,which is the one we are discussing,they came with differing religious beliefs depending on what part of africa they originated from,their form of religion was more spiritual,encompassing magical spirits,and also an appreciation of the elements which surrounded them and brought them water,food and sunshine.
In addition,christianity could not have originated in africa,if it did then someone must have forgotten to tell those missionaries who went to africa preaching christianity,........with a bible in one hand and a gun in the other.
Furthermore,slavery was sanctioned by the church and most religious affiliations at the time,they all justified the enslavement of black people by suggesting that "god" would have wanted it,as blacks werent "real" people and did not posess souls.
...have it your way, ketchup and all; but I am not going to get into an argument with you over something that is totally IRRELEVANT to the topic of discussion becozz smaddie tink dem wise fi link religion wid baggage.
I'v already bin through this discussion with FLEDGIST many moons ago, when he was here, and a few others...prolly di mods can check di archives for my position on this....I simply refuse to engage in discussing something that is not related to the topic...if you choose tuh, go ahead..walk good.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Natral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Faithfull</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
fyi, the slaves came to THE Americas with their religion...they needed NO white slave masters to teach them about that, and that is whether they believed in their indigenous religions or the Judea-Christian religion...also membah seh "Christianity" originated IN AFRICA...so smaddie need fi goh study dem history before dem seh certain sinting whey no really goh soh..
I beg to differ,but the slaves came to the americas with *their* religion,not the religion given to them by their white slave masters,which is the one we are discussing,they came with differing religious beliefs depending on what part of africa they originated from,their form of religion was more spiritual,encompassing magical spirits,and also an appreciation of the elements which surrounded them and brought them water,food and sunshine.
In addition,christianity could not have originated in africa,if it did then someone must have forgotten to tell those missionaries who went to africa preaching christianity,........with a bible in one hand and a gun in the other.
Furthermore,slavery was sanctioned by the church and most religious affiliations at the time,they all justified the enslavement of black people by suggesting that "god" would have wanted it,as blacks werent "real" people and did not posess souls.
...have it your way, ketchup and all; but I am not going to get into an argument with you over something that is totally IRRELEVANT to the topic of discussion becozz smaddie tink dem wise fi link religion wid baggage.
I'v already bin through this discussion with FLEDGIST many moons ago, when he was here, and a few others...prolly di mods can check di archives for my position on this....I simply refuse to engage in discussing something that is not related to the topic...if you choose tuh, go ahead..walk good.