F & R WEEKLY POLL! Vote nuh?!
Re: F & R WEEKLY POLL! Vote nuh?!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Silent_River</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div>
well i thought this would be an interesting poll silent, and i thought we'd get some more replies.
my choice however is not listed lol.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: monk</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Silent_River</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div>
well i thought this would be an interesting poll silent, and i thought we'd get some more replies.
my choice however is not listed lol. </div></div>
What is your choice?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: monk</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Silent_River</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div>
What is your choice?</div></div>
my choice would be a variation of 4.
I myself am fascinated in the various mythologies and the developments of human spiritual systems. I would gladly welcome the study of any system. the caveat would be that logic and rational thought should be the spectrum through which spiritual systems are viewed and checked against.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: monk</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: monk</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Silent_River</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div>
What is your choice?</div></div>
my choice would be a variation of 4.
I myself am fascinated in the various mythologies and the developments of human spiritual systems. I would gladly welcome the study of any system. the caveat would be that logic and rational thought should be the spectrum through which spiritual systems are viewed and checked against. </div></div>
A six year old probably couldnt digest what you just wrote, so what would you suggest for the children, as the thread suggests?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My choice is not listed either! </div></div>
Throw it in the ring, lets talk about it!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My choice is not listed either! </div></div>
Throw it in the ring, lets talk about it! </div></div>
We raised our daughters without pretending that magic might be going on here. We read them stories that presented make believe worlds, but we never acted as if those worlds might really exist. There was never any Santa, or tooth fairies, and no invisible somethings watching your every move. It worked out well for them.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My choice is not listed either! </div></div>
We raised our daughters without pretending that magic might be going on here. We read them stories that presented make believe worlds, but we never acted as if those worlds might really exist. There was never any Santa, or tooth fairies, and no invisible somethings watching your every move. It worked out well for them. </div></div>
I take it by this you may be suggesting to just deliver the information and have them figure it out?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My choice is not listed either! </div></div>
We raised our daughters without pretending that magic might be going on here. We read them stories that presented make believe worlds, but we never acted as if those worlds might really exist. There was never any Santa, or tooth fairies, and no invisible somethings watching your every move. It worked out well for them. </div></div>
I take it by this you may be suggesting to just deliver the information and have them figure it out? </div></div>
What "information?" We showed them the ropes... but we never infected them with any dogma.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I take it by this you may be suggesting to just deliver the information and have them figure it out? </div></div>
What "information?" We showed them the ropes... but we never infected them with any dogma. </div></div>
what do you mean by ropes? do you mean specific teachings of different church organizations?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">We raised our daughters without pretending that magic might be going on here. We read them stories that presented make believe worlds, but we never acted as if those worlds might really exist. There was never any Santa, or tooth fairies, and no invisible somethings watching your every move. It worked out well for them. </div></div>
What "information?" We showed them the ropes... but we never infected them with any dogma. </div></div>
what do you mean by ropes? do you mean specific teachings of different church organizations? </div></div>
We never acted as if there might be anything supernatural going on. They knew that many other people believed in supernatural realms... grandparents, neighbors, and friends, but we never acted as if we did.
By "the ropes" I mean how to read, and the importance of keeping your agreements with others (by example).
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
what do you mean by ropes? do you mean specific teachings of different church organizations? </div></div>
We never acted as if there might be anything supernatural going on. They knew that many other people believed in supernatural realms... grandparents, neighbors, and friends, but we never acted as if we did.
By "the ropes" I mean how to read, and the importance of keeping your agreements with others (by example). </div></div>
What if I suggest that the words above may communicate your position anyway - and therefore still teach your personal position? (example "supernatural realms", "infected ... with dogma"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
By "the ropes" I mean how to read, and the importance of keeping your agreements with others (by example). </div></div>
What if I suggest that the words above may communicate your position anyway - and therefore still teach your personal position? (example "supernatural realms", "infected ... with dogma"</div></div>
Well... they <span style="font-style: italic">were</span> babies so those words didn't come up. In a sense, religious folks believe that the question, "What is going on here?", is of primary concern. Non-religious folk don't worry about that, and their question is perhaps, "What shall we do today."
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Well... they <span style="font-style: italic">were</span> babies so those words didn't come up. In a sense, religious folks believe that the question, "What is going on here?", is of primary concern. Non-religious folk don't worry about that, and their question is perhaps, "What shall we do today." </div></div>
Fair 'nuff - I guess until they do start asking those questions...