I was visiting NYC and my family members ask me if i don't go to church. if i visit them next time i should i say this to them that i don't need to go to church? should i tell them the the history of Christianity and the how the church fathers made up christianity or just simply avoid them and don't spend a lot of time with them or avoid being alone with them?
family members who ask me if i go to church
Re: family members who ask me if i go to church
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ChineseJamaican</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I was visiting NYC and my family members ask me if i don't go to church. if i visit them next time i should i say this to them that i don't need to go to church? should i tell them the the history of Christianity and the how the church fathers made up christianity or just simply avoid them and don't spend a lot of time with them or avoid being alone with them? </div></div>
I would say No I don't go to church, too much hypocrite di deh an mi nuh haffee guh church fi be one wid de creator...fullstop
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ChineseJamaican</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I was visiting NYC and my family members ask me if i don't go to church. if i visit them next time i should i say this to them that i don't need to go to church? should i tell them the the history of Christianity and the how the church fathers made up christianity or just simply avoid them and don't spend a lot of time with them or avoid being alone with them? </div></div>
I would say No I don't go to church, too much hypocrite di deh an mi nuh haffee guh church fi be one wid de creator...fullstop</div></div>
creator
My grandfather was an atheist and was attending a large family reunion in Georgia (he lived in Maine) at which there was a distant family member who was a minister.
The minister asked my grandfather what church he went to and got this reply:
"Well, one day I was walking through the graveyard and saw a tombstone on which the epitaph read 'Here Lies So-and-So, killed when the meeting house (church) fell in on him'.....and I make it a point to stay out of dangerous places"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ChineseJamaican</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I was visiting NYC and my family members ask me if i don't go to church. if i visit them next time i should i say this to them that i don't need to go to church? should i tell them the the history of Christianity and the how the church fathers made up christianity or just simply avoid them and don't spend a lot of time with them or avoid being alone with them? </div></div>
My two cents is that it sounds like you don't see these family members too often, so probably it would be best to skirt the issue.