Wanted to ask a question: Is modern Christianity eisegesis in nature?
Biblical Scholars, come here...
Re: Biblical Scholars, come here...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Wanted to ask a question: Is modern Christianity eisegesis in nature?
http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/eisegesis </div></div>
yep yep an yep...dat is the whole premise of this prosperity theology and all the odda speil being preached from many a pulpit....note how very few talk about sin an the need for change and right choices.,...it is all about being human i.e.fallible so u r bound to sin...even if u do di said sin ovah an ovah...no denying of self...noone prays at Gethsemane anymore..<span style="font-weight: bold">dem dweet</span> <span style="font-style: italic">n wen found out </span>, <span style="font-weight: bold">den</span> dem bawl seh dem no perfect...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">btw do u do any Biblical hermeneutics...this is the study of the principles of interpretation concerning the books of the Bible.... i have a wonderful workbook on this. </div></div>
Not as an individual discipline, but I maintain an interest in the process of faith as well as faith itself.
Every now and then on this board I open up a <span style="font-style: italic">neutral</span> post to discuss our systems of belief but it would be better for me in this forum to discuss gospel music...
-----------------------------
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Wanted to ask a question: Is modern Christianity eisegesis in nature?
http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/eisegesis </div></div>
yep yep an yep...dat is the whole premise of this prosperity theology and all the odda speil being preached from many a pulpit....note how very few talk about sin an the need for change and right choices.,...it is all about being human i.e.fallible so u r bound to sin...even if u do di said sin ovah an ovah...no denying of self...noone prays at Gethsemane anymore..<span style="font-weight: bold">dem dweet</span> <span style="font-style: italic">n wen found out </span>, <span style="font-weight: bold">den</span> dem bawl seh dem no perfect... </div></div>
I wonder if this approach as you suggest is fundamentally flawed (prosperity gospel etc), and if so - should Modern Christianity be rejected as not 'Christian' if it uses the eisegesis approach?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">[quote=</div></div>
I wonder if this approach as you suggest is fundamentally flawed (prosperity gospel etc), and if so - <span style="font-weight: bold">should Modern Christianity be rejected as not 'Christian' if it uses the eisegesis approach</span>? [/quote]
yep yep an yep...Jesus Himself said He did not come to replace the law but to fulfill it...so y r we in this time changing what He, part of the Holy Trinity did not/would not change
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I wonder if this approach as you suggest is fundamentally flawed (prosperity gospel etc), and if so - <span style="font-weight: bold">should Modern Christianity be rejected as not 'Christian' if it uses the eisegesis approach</span>? </div></div>
yep yep an yep...Jesus Himself said He did not come to replace the law but to fulfill it...so y r we in this time changing what He, part of the Holy Trinity did not/would not change </div></div>
So then based on that we shouldn't we just convert to Orthodox (Fundamentalist) Judaism?
in heaven there will be NO modern christians Only christians!
there's NO modern gospel only gospel of the DEVIL.
Jesus is the same yesterday and today!
the God of abraham, moses, elijah and john baptist is same God of today.
God gave a bible of His words NOT a bunch of feel good head knowledge books. throw them out and stick to the bible.
the Holy Spirit is the best teacher. He can't teach\guide you form the head knowledge books you're always reading.
the word is spirit, the natural man with the natural mind can't understand it.
if your wicked friend/family knows to give you good gift, how much more God will give you.
ask God for His Spirit and wisdom, so you can understand His words written in the bible.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: foolya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">in heaven there will be NO modern christians Only christians!
How do you know what's in Heaven?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div> ask God for His Spirit and wisdom, so you can understand His words written in the bible. [/quote]
Who's words
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I wonder if this approach as you suggest is fundamentally flawed (prosperity gospel etc), and if so - <span style="font-weight: bold">should Modern Christianity be rejected as not 'Christian' if it uses the eisegesis approach</span>? </div></div>
yep yep an yep...Jesus Himself said He did not come to replace the law but to fulfill it...so y r we in this time changing what He, part of the Holy Trinity did not/would not change </div></div>
So then based on that we shouldn't we just convert to Orthodox (Fundamentalist) Judaism?
no because , an i dont know about Judaism,but dont dem no believe seh JC is the Messiah....i do read the Orthodox Bible because of its undiluted lineage, so to speak...one does not have to convert to anything if u claim Christ arreddy,,,wat u haffi do is lean on Him, His Words an stop follow di parson n whe him seh is being said....stop rebuff wat JC seh to u as a believer , that He is the one u fi ha di one on one relationship wid an stop tink u need di parson fi facilitate said
i am amazed that the Protestant church fought so hard against the Papacy ongle to now in dese days ape it in so many ways
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Jesus Himself said He did not come to replace the law but to fulfill it...so y r we in this time changing what He, part of the Holy Trinity did not/would not change </div></div>
no because , an i dont know about Judaism,but dont dem no believe seh JC is the Messiah....i do read the Orthodox Bible because of its undiluted lineage, so to speak...one does not have to convert to anything if u claim Christ arreddy,,,wat u haffi do is lean on Him, His Words an stop follow di parson n whe him seh is being said....stop rebuff wat JC seh to u as a believer , that He is the one u fi ha di one on one relationship wid an stop tink u need di parson fi facilitate said
i am amazed that the Protestant church fought so hard against the Papacy ongle to now in dese days ape it in so many ways </div></div>
Lets get back on track here everyone.
So, if Modern Christianity is on the wrong track due to eisegesis, and fundamental Judaisim is not the way to go - then it seem that you are suggesting a medium which would point to fundamental Christianity (?)
How would we identify this?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">all the ones who are proclaiming to be mature Christians, and yet refuse to have a mature discussion about Christianity... shame on you... </div></div>
dem is too Christian to chat wid u..u might upset dem righteous armour
no mine me...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Quodlibet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">all the ones who are proclaiming to be mature Christians, and yet refuse to have a mature discussion about Christianity... shame on you... </div></div>
dem is too Christian to chat wid u..u might upset dem righteous armour
no mine me... </div></div>
Fi real though - if people cant maintain a non-simplistic discussion about faith online, how dem expect fi do it in person?
Classic case of dis yout experience some situation, an start fi question certain ting inna him life - walk inna one church an start fi ask question. Instead a dem gi him question dem some serious considaration - even fi sey "wi no know" - no... dem boof di man an tek OFFENCE to di fact seh him bold enough fi a ask question inna di firs place...