Rastafari is not a religion in my opinion but a movement It has principles around which it organizes but no dogmas, different houses emphasizes certain aspects of the movement.
Is Rastafari a religion? or a movement?
Re: Is Rastafari a religion? or a movement?
i always call it a movement...but it can be considered a religion when you take into account all the definitions of the word;
it combines spiritual, physical, philosophical principles and is steeped in this world and this time...not an imaginary sky heaven...but improving earthly conditions in this life in this time
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i always call it a movement...but it can be considered a religion when you take into account all the definitions of the word;</div></div>
True.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">it combines spiritual, physical, philosophical principles and is steeped in this world and this time...not an imaginary sky heaven...but improving earthly conditions in this life in this time </div></div>
Isn't this also true of most political parties?
In other would you consider the Democratic party a religious sect?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">And is Haile Selassie I God or is he not </div></div>
YES.....If Jesus is....and NO if we are not.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Was Marcus Garvey correct or incorrect in his prophesy that the next king crowned in Africa (who by pure accident of history happened to be Selassie) would be God?</div></div>
Where you heard that?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Selassie himself denied his deity. </div></div>
Did Jesus say he was God? or did he say we all are God?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: franksterr</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i always call it a movement...but it can be considered a religion when you take into account all the definitions of the word;</div></div>
True.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">it combines spiritual, physical, philosophical principles and is steeped in this world and this time...not an imaginary sky heaven...but improving earthly conditions in this life in this time </div></div>
Isn't this also true of most political parties?
In other would you consider the Democratic party a religious sect? </div></div>
yes...republicanism & democratism can be religions...some people maintain a party affiliation staunchly their entire lives and swear by it
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">And is Haile Selassie I God or is he not ?</div></div>
from previous discussions with you I already know your concept or definition of the word "god" is extremely limited...you basically see "god" as a magician in the sky...haile selassie is not that but he is god...as are you and i to an extent...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Was Marcus Garvey correct or incorrect in his prophesy that the next king crowned in Africa (who by pure accident of history happened to be Selassie) would be God?</div></div>
this is a legend...i can't say whether he actually said that or not, but garvey did say if whites choose to see god through their own spectrum then the blacks will do the same...the concept of the divine kingship goes back thousands of years to ancient nubia & egypt..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Selassie himself denied his deity</div></div>.
supreme modesty...
someone claiming to be god would be a laughing stock...like david koresh or other cult leaders
it has myth
it has rictual
it has moral principle
it has dietary restriction
it has confused esotereric murmurings
it has inherent contradictions...
it has ego centric opnions of its own self importance
it see it self as truth
it has a seige mentality
it has unrealistic tenats to followers...
All charactieristic of a religion.. but it doesnt matter..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">it has myth
it has rictual
it has moral principle
<span style="font-weight: bold">it has dietary restriction</span></div></div>
we all have dietary restrictions...it's not possible to eat everything
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">it has confused esotereric murmurings
it has inherent contradictions...
it has ego centric opnions of its own self importance
it see it self as truth </div></div>
sounds like everything & everyone
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">it has a seige mentality </div></div>
??? please explain...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">it has unrealistic tenats to followers...</div></div>
such as?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Wahts wrong with a nice well cooked slab of pork ???
nothing depending on your point of view...someone in india mught be sickened by you eating beef...you might be sickened by someone eating dog in china...one man thinks rat is a tasty cuisine while the next man may find it repulsive...
again- we all have dietary restrictions---especially to poison
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the term " fight gainst the rasta?"</div></div>
please elaborate...anything can be fought against;
who can deny the j'can gov't fought gainst rasta
pork or meat is not poison.....actually u r right every thing is posion depending on concentration... so why not restrict salt....or carbohydrate... what or oranges.....or water.....
the Jamaican goverment fight against rasta, less than they fight against homosexual, or atheists.....or socialist or satanists and less than people who bleach their skin...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">pork or meat is not poison....</div></div>
i never said it was...i said we all have a dietary restriction to a known poison...i was illustrating that every living individual has dietary restrictions...i know one of my kids refuses to eat peas...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">.actually u r right every thing is posion depending on concentration</div></div>..
i agree...all di ackee weh mi love
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">. so why not restrict salt....or carbohydrate... what or oranges.....or water.....</div></div>
all these things have to be restricted in one way or another...reminds me of the girl who died on the radio station after drinking too much water for a prank/dare...yes even too much water or oxygen can kill you...so everything must be seen in context...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the Jamaican goverment fight against rasta, less than they fight against homosexual, or atheists.....or socialist or satanists and less than people who bleach their skin...</div></div>
that could perhaps be the case now, but early in its history the movement was ruthlessly sought out by the authorites...
the brutality & murder of the brethren & sistrin is well documents in jamaican & caribbean history...
far more ruthlessly than any of the groups you mention---in terms of government action...
we can debate it if you care
never said it was...i said we all have a dietary restriction to a known poison...i was illustrating that every living individual has dietary restrictions...i know one of my kids refuses to eat peas...
The dietary proscription against eating pork is religion based except of course for non-Jewish and non-Moslem vegetarians.
God or the writers of the Bible did not order your kid to avoid eating peas.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">never said it was...i said we all have a dietary restriction to a known poison...i was illustrating that every living individual has dietary restrictions...i know one of my kids refuses to eat peas...</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The dietary proscription against eating pork is religion based except of course for non-Jewish and non-Moslem vegetarians.</div></div>
i will correct you by saying it is religion based for some...
by the way many rastafari fit into the category you just described, since most rastafari strive to be vegetarians and are non-jewish & non-muslim...
most rastafari recognize meat as a food to be avoided- not just pork
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">God or the writers of the Bible did not order your kid to avoid eating peas.</div></div>
let's be reasonable here cakes...some people base their dietary habits on religion but some don't...some simply base their dietary restrictions on health & fitness concerns
i order my child not to eat sweets before bed- that is a dietary restriction ordered by her god- me...