Apocrypha means 'hidden things' in Greek. The Apocryphical books of the Bible fall into two categories: texts which were included in some canonical version of the Bible at some point, and other texts of a Biblical nature which have never been canonical.
have u read any of the books....i have always wondered y Rastas were fascinated by the Macabees...( bring bak Macabees version,it belong to di black man....dat was a song in Ja bak in di day)it is just Jewish history....i am intrigued by the Gospel of Mary Magdalene and also the writings of Judas....even Phillip's
Not only de apocrypha, wah bout de lost books of the bible? Wah bout all those other writing dem decide seh dem nah put inna de bible cah dem nuh waan yuh fi know certain tings. Such as the book of Jasher, the book of Barnabus who was with Paul an de oddah one dem when dem did guh bout de place an rent dem clothes an preach de gospel.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Apocrypha means 'hidden things' in Greek. The Apocryphical books of the Bible fall into two categories: texts which were included in some canonical version of the Bible at some point, and other texts of a Biblical nature which have never been canonical.
Your thoughts? </div></div>
they are but another set of scriptures related to the judeo-christian lineage of religious texts;
often referred to as "lost books" of the bible...
it becomes fascinating because people are entirely misled on the concept of "the bible"...
they think it's a holy book that fell from the sky already completed...
when it is in reality a compilation of different texts written at different times and one version was put together and marketed under the title "the holy bible"...so people think that is the ultimate, only, holy magical book
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">have u read any of the books....i have always wondered y Rastas were fascinated by the Macabees...( bring bak Macabees version,it belong to di black man....dat was a song in Ja bak in di day)it is just Jewish history....i am intrigued by the Gospel of Mary Magdalene and also the writings of Judas....even Phillip's </div></div>
The book of Maccabees is revered by Rasta because it tells of the revolt of Jewish slaves led by on Judas Maccabaeus against their slave masters as a result the colonial british goverment of Jamaica made it illegal and punishable by imprisonment for anyone to found with one.
It is a replay of the Exodus with a lot more juicy and useful details for revolutionaries, both psychologically, medicinally and militarily.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: franksterr</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">have u read any of the books....i have always wondered y Rastas were fascinated by the Macabees...( bring bak Macabees version,it belong to di black man....dat was a song in Ja bak in di day)it is just Jewish history....i am intrigued by the Gospel of Mary Magdalene and also the writings of Judas....even Phillip's </div></div>
The book of Maccabees is revered by Rasta because it tells of the revolt of Jewish slaves led by on Judas Maccabaeus against their slave masters as a result the colonial british goverment of Jamaica made it illegal and punishable by imprisonment for anyone to found with one.
It is a replay of the Exodus with a lot more juicy and useful details for revolutionaries, both psychologically, medicinally and militarily.
Saw the analogy in the hdtory BUT never knew the writings were banned ..thanks for that info...
What is interesting about the apocrypha is that many of the books show the strong presence and leadership of women The following books of the apocrypha are adopted by the Ethiopian, Greek, Russian Orthodox Churches as well as Roman Catholics.
Tobit
Judith
Additions to Esther (Vulgate Esther 10:4-16:24)[20]
Wisdom (or Wisdom of Solomon)
Wisdom of Jesus ben Sira (or Ecclesiasticus)
Baruch, including the Letter of Jeremiah (Additions to Jeremiah in the Septuagint)[21]
Additions to Daniel:
Prayer of Azariah and Song of the Three Holy Children (Vulgate Daniel 3:24-90)
Susanna (Vulgate Daniel 13, Septuagint prologue)
Bel and the Dragon (Vulgate Daniel 14, Septuagint epilogue)
1 Maccabees
2 Maccabees
In the Anglican community where I worship, a small group of us is exploring some of the Apocryphal books. And yes, I sang "Bring back Macabbee Version" to them and they just roared
Bring back Macabee Version
That God gave to black man
Give back King James Version
Belongs to the white man
Black man, get up, stand up
Find your foot
And give black God the glory
Black man, get up, stand up
Find your foot
And give black God the glory, yeah!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What is interesting about the apocrypha is that many of the books show the strong presence and leadership of women The following books of the apocrypha are adopted by the Ethiopian, Greek, Russian Orthodox Churches as well as Roman Catholics.
Look a de way yuh type dat as if the Ethiopian church a follow aftah smaddy else when nuttin could be furdah from de chroot. A de ress a de christian world teef de whool a it outt a Ethiopia. CHO!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The following books of the apocrypha are adopted by the Ethiopian, Greek, Russian Orthodox Churches as well as Roman Catholics. </div></div>
Am I 'reading' your statement correctly, Peasie, that you're saying that these ^ above-named Churches 'added' these books to their bibles?
(I, as a Catholic, have been told/ heard a lot of Protestants make this particular claim - that the Roman Catholic Church, in particular, has "added" non-canonical books to "their" bible.)
Or did I read something into your post that wasn't there? (or maybe just ambiguous wording confused me)
Anyone who holds that ^ viewpoint has got it backwards: These books <span style="font-style: italic">originally were</span> part of the bible (as it was compiled by circa 3rd/4th century)... It was the Protestants (circa 15th century) who removed these books from their bibles. The various Orthodox and Catholic Churches kept their bibles intact after the Protestants dissected theirs.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">True ting about the Ethiopian Church
I really really want to travel to Ethiopia and explore the ancient monasteries. Some day soon </div></div>
Ooooh. I too really want to do that! What an experience that will be!
as time goes on, more and more early christian writings are uncovered, many offer fascinating insights into early church history and philosophy.
and the stories behind them , like the recent rediscovery of the gospel of judas, it's unreal and one is left wondering how many other treasures are just disintegrating locked up in some urn or safe deposit box.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WitchyOoman</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The following books of the apocrypha are adopted by the Ethiopian, Greek, Russian Orthodox Churches as well as Roman Catholics. </div></div>
Am I 'reading' your statement correctly, Peasie, that you're saying that these ^ above-named Churches 'added' these books to their bibles?
(I, as a Catholic, have been told/ heard a lot of Protestants make this particular claim - that the Roman Catholic Church, in particular, has "added" non-canonical books to "their" bible.)
Or did I read something into your post that wasn't there? (or maybe just ambiguous wording confused me)
<span style="font-weight: bold">Anyone who holds that ^ viewpoint has got it backwards: These books <span style="font-style: italic">originally were</span> part of the bible (as it was compiled by circa 3rd/4th century)... It was the Protestants (circa 15th century) who removed these books from their bibles. The various Orthodox and Catholic Churches kept their bibles intact after the Protestants dissected theirs.</span> </div></div>
Are you suggesting that the earliest Hebrew Bible contained the apocrypha?
aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ChurchDude</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WitchyOoman</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The following books of the apocrypha are adopted by the Ethiopian, Greek, Russian Orthodox Churches as well as Roman Catholics. </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">Anyone who holds that ^ viewpoint has got it backwards: These books <span style="font-style: italic">originally were</span> part of the bible (as it was compiled by circa 3rd/4th century)... It was the Protestants (circa 15th century) who removed these books from their bibles. The various Orthodox and Catholic Churches kept their bibles intact after the Protestants dissected theirs.</span> </div></div>
Are you suggesting that the earliest Hebrew Bible contained the apocrypha? </div></div>
No, ChurchDude. I never expected you, of all people here, to attempt to misquote me when my words stand exactly as I originally posted them. Wow.
I said... well, how about I quote it to get it exactly.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WitchyOoman</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
These books <span style="font-style: italic">originally were</span> part of the bible (as it was compiled by circa 3rd/4th century)... </div></div>
I specified "part of the bible <span style="font-weight: bold">as it was compiled by circa 3rd/4th century</span>".
That ^ description hardly matches "the earliest Hebrew bible".
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WitchyOoman</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ChurchDude</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WitchyOoman</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The following books of the apocrypha are adopted by the Ethiopian, Greek, Russian Orthodox Churches as well as Roman Catholics. </div></div>
Are you suggesting that the earliest Hebrew Bible contained the apocrypha? </div></div>
No, ChurchDude. I never expected you, of all people here, to attempt to misquote me when my words stand exactly as I originally posted them. Wow. </div></div>
"Attempt to misquote"? No, I asked the question to better understand your post - nothing more, nothing less.
aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.